What is with my HD?? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2008, 03:31 PM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: What is with my HD??

Device 0 and device 1. Which one is which?
__________________

KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 03:33 PM   #22 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: What is with my HD??

no idea... I tried all combinations on all the IDE Channels.. no workey..

Everything shows up fine in the BIOS...
__________________

__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 03:39 PM   #23 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: What is with my HD??

For trouble shooting purposes set both drives to PIO Only in the device manager. You'll have to reboot.
KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 03:57 PM   #24 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: What is with my HD??

no difference..
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 04:14 PM   #25 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: What is with my HD??

Well you can put those settings back.

For the safety of your data, I'd put that drive into an external enclosure or another computer and try to copy the data to a different drive.
KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 04:38 PM   #26 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: What is with my HD??

^ I'm gonna see if my buddy will let me borrow his EXT HD so I can see if that works.. The old MOBO is out and I don't have anything to make it work..

Well...... I've got enough parts laying around I could prolly frankenstein a set up..
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 04:45 PM   #27 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: What is with my HD??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Antec-User View Post
^ I'm gonna see if my buddy will let me borrow his EXT HD so I can see if that works.. The old MOBO is out and I don't have anything to make it work..

Well...... I've got enough parts laying around I could prolly frankenstein a set up..

lol I'm watching a frankenstein special on the Chiller channel right now.
KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 04:56 PM   #28 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: What is with my HD??

Welp.. I've got bigger fish to fry now.. I'm trying to load more drivers from the boot CD and my rig keeps crashing every 2 minutes... It's not OC'd either. I've got the 900 case, so it's not getting hot.

I'm gonna have my programmer buddy kick his feet around in my BIOS.. I'd bet it's this POS refurbished OS HD I just bought.
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 10:27 PM   #29 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: What is with my HD??

I flashed my OS HD because of misc bugs... I didn't do the full level format at first.. It SHOULD be running a little better now but it crashed once on me already.. so I set that POS Storage drive to Slave and it showed up the same..

Gonna try to put it in another computer and see what I can do.
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 11:30 PM   #30 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: What is with my HD??

When mixing old technology drives with newer drives, it's best to have the older drive slaved to the newer drive.
__________________

KurrentEweser is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.