What is with my HD?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-27-2008, 03:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default What is with my HD??

My storage HD I got used in my previous build shows all garbled now... It's showing all squares and E and circle, dot Bump stuff.. It's my Maxtor IDE 320G Storage drive.

I've got a lot of stuff on there, to incluse my Photoshop CS3 program.. I don't want to lose anything! I just put this rig together (M3A32 MoBo w/ Phenom X4 9950) It took a lot of trial and error before I even got BOTH to show up,, SATA OS 200G HD (C:\) and two storage IDE HD's. I'm gonna try to DL SP3 and see if it helps. Everything shows up fine in the BIOS.

I have a screen shot but its not uploading..
__________________

__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 09-27-2008, 06:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: What is with my HD??

What does check disk say about the drive? Are you using a 80 wire IDE hard drive cable or a 40 wire CD rom IDE cable?
__________________

KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 01:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: What is with my HD??

Checkdisk says the drive is fine, and I only have one tape connection that will fit it, I believe it's the 40... It's plugged into the primary IDE slot. My other drive is hooked in series with it and it shows up fine.
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 01:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: What is with my HD??

I dont get what you are saying. It shows what? Have you tried a Linux LiveCD or something else to try and access the drive to make sure that it isnt just something with your Windows install.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 01:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: What is with my HD??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Antec-User View Post
Checkdisk says the drive is fine, and I only have one tape connection that will fit it, I believe it's the 40... It's plugged into the primary IDE slot. My other drive is hooked in series with it and it shows up fine.
Looks like you're using the wrong cable. Use a ultra DMA (80-Conductor) IDE/ATA Cable



Ultra DMA (80-Conductor) IDE/ATA Cables
KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 01:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: What is with my HD??

I'll try to upload the screen shot again... I'm just really hoping that my HD isn't corrupt. I have a lot of pics on there, photoshop, all 50gigs of my iTunes library... etc etc.

Image hosting sites are not working for me for some reason.
Full sized link.
ImageShack - Hosting :: ssiipd2.jpg


Other shot.. D:\ and E:\ are hooked to the same cable.. E:\ is the one I'm having problems with.
http://img408.imageshack.us/img408/9495/ssnq7.jpg
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 02:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: What is with my HD??

You'll get garbage by using the wrong or a bad cable.
KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 02:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: What is with my HD??

^ Yes, I realize that, but WHY is it only ONE of the two garbled?? I'll try switching the cables now.. just for s***s and giggles.
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 02:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: What is with my HD??

Can you go inside the folders and still execute the software? Could just be the text is messed up. But i would agree that it is the wrong cable.

It could jsut be that the hard drive needs a UltraDMA connecor. Is it a UltraDMA drive? If so that woudl be why.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 02:26 PM   #10 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: What is with my HD??

Just swapped in a BRAND NEW Cable.. Still doing it..

I can't open the folders.. It says the Syntax is incorrect. That's why I got a MAxtor HD.. They're said to be reliable.
__________________

__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.