What the hell?!?!?! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2005, 10:31 PM   #11 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

if your video card requires a power cable to be plugged into it... make sure you have done that.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 10-30-2005, 11:32 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 21
Default

will check on the power cables
thank you
__________________

frankiedacranki is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 02:06 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 21
Default

o...k so...i tried everything that i could and.... still the monitor does not get signals from my computer and video card. I checked if it was my monitor so i plugged it in my bro's computer and it works fine....
Can someone list some causes of this?
frankiedacranki is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 02:39 AM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

you never did answer splatoid.

Are you getting any beeps? (of course making sure the PC speaker is plugged in)

http://www.bioscentral.com/beepcodes/awardbeep.htm

that's a list of beed codes for the award BIOS...other bios's are listed on the left.

if you dont get any beeps, pull out the vid card, turn it on see if it beeps..if it does try reseating the graphics card and making 100% it's in there...if it doesn't beep after wards, something with the card is up...repeat the same procedure with the RAM...

if it doesn't beep on either the memory or vid card it's either the mobo or CPU in which it'll be impossible to tell which one it is without having another board to place the CPU in to rule out the possibility of it being the CPU
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 03:17 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 21
Default

ok i'lll check on the beeps
didn't know what you meant.
frankiedacranki is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 03:27 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 359
Default

check the memory.. to make sure you diddn't fry it first off (pull out one stick and try one at a time in the first Ram slot) (memory is the most volitile and easy to damage incoherintly computer part In my opinion)
next try the vid card in another comp to make sure that's fine (don't let the comp boot to windows though or it will screw up the windows configuration a bit) just mash the del key and go to bios and see if it displays fine...

Next thing would prob be to reset the cmos if none of the above showed anything :/
kiyotaka is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 03:28 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 359
Default

ooh rearead.. DEFINATELY reset your cmos.. your new CPU may hate your current FSB settings..

also make sure your board is compatible with the CPU you are using (not always.. like some boards like one variety of processor core over another)
kiyotaka is offline  
Old 11-05-2005, 09:18 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 21
Default

well i found out that my cpu and mobo was damaged... =(
so... i returned the new combo and now i'm planning to build a new computer... sigh.... more $$$ out of my pocket i guess
anyways...thanks for all your informations guys
__________________

frankiedacranki is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.