What happens to on-board graphics card or sound card if an external one is installed? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-24-2006, 11:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 507
Default What happens to on-board graphics card or sound card if an external one is installed?

Hi,

I was just wondering...what will happen to the onboard graphics card if an external one was installed???


What about a sound card???

10x!
__________________

__________________

3.4GHz i5 3570K / Asus P8Z77-V LE / 8 GB RAM / 120 GB SSD / 3 TB HD / 2 TB NAS
AMD Radeon HD 6850 1GB / Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced / 32" Samsung LCD
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
13" MacBook Air (mid-2012) / 2.0 GHz Core i7 / 256 GB SSD / 8 GB RAM
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Toshiba Satellite M645 / Intel Core i3 2.53GHz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Sony VAIO VGN-CS320J / Intel Core 2 Duo 2.1Ghz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
Rawan AbuSalman is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 02:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
STATus h2O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Fayetteville, North Carolina
Posts: 90
Send a message via AIM to STATus h2O
Default

There is no such thing as an "external" video card. I'm assuming your talking about adding one into the expansion slot, such as PCI, PCI-e, or AGP. For newer computers, the BIOS will automatically detect that another video device is plugged in and will disable onboard video appropriatly. For older ones, you'd have to either disable onboard video in the BIOS, or disable it in the Device Manager. Same goes for the sound card. When installing a new video card, make sure you uninstall the drivers for the onboard video. Turn off the computer, and install the video card. When you boot up, Windows will automatically detect the new hardware, and you would put in the disc and install all the necessary drivers. Any questions?
__________________

__________________
<P><a href="http://userbars.org"><img src="http://img407.imageshack.us/img407/1236/e6600vm1.jpg" border="0"></a>
<a href="http://userbars.org"><img src="http://img405.imageshack.us/img405/4116/88002cw3.jpg" border="0"></a>
<a href="http://userbars.org"><img src="http://img261.imageshack.us/img261/9990/uprstrancefan2gi8.gif" border="0"></a>
<a href="http://userbars.org"><img src="http://img187.imageshack.us/img187/2838/winamp2cu9.png" border="0"></a>

<I>IM me on AIM @</I> <B>STATus H2o</B>
STATus h2O is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 01:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
dcc
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 107
Default

Some boards require you to change a jumper.
dcc is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 02:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

on my K8V-MX, if you install an AGP card, the onboard card is automatically disabled.

on some motherboards, you have to disable the onboard video card in the BIOS before you can use the PCI/AGP/PCI-E card

but when you install a new sound card, the old sound card is never disabled unless you disable it in the BIOS
however if you install a new sound card, you can still use the new card even if the onboard card is not disabled.
simply install the new card, and windows will automatically use the new card instead of the onboard.
but you do have the option of switching to the onboard card (within Windows) - not that you'd want to do that
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 03:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 507
Default

thanx guys....

(ya, I meant adding one to the expansion slot....i meant external as in not onboard...)

thanx again...
__________________

3.4GHz i5 3570K / Asus P8Z77-V LE / 8 GB RAM / 120 GB SSD / 3 TB HD / 2 TB NAS
AMD Radeon HD 6850 1GB / Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced / 32" Samsung LCD
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
13" MacBook Air (mid-2012) / 2.0 GHz Core i7 / 256 GB SSD / 8 GB RAM
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Toshiba Satellite M645 / Intel Core i3 2.53GHz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Sony VAIO VGN-CS320J / Intel Core 2 Duo 2.1Ghz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
Rawan AbuSalman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.