What error is this? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-29-2013, 10:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
FoxiStatis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 85
Send a message via Skype™ to FoxiStatis
Default What error is this?

I keep getting an error. On my computer it comes up with this. What does this mean? The computer freezes and then catches up.

Activation context generation failed for "C:\Program Files\ATI\CIM\Bin64\SetACL64.exe".Error in manifest or policy file "C:\Program Files\ATI\CIM\Bin64\Microsoft.VC80.MFC.MANIFEST" on line 11. Component identity found in manifest does not match the identity of the component requested. Reference is Microsoft.VC80.MFC,processorArchitecture="amd64",p ublicKeyToken="1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b",type="win32",vers ion="8.0.50727.762". Definition is Microsoft.VC80.MFC,processorArchitecture="amd64",p ublicKeyToken="1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b",type="win32",vers ion="8.0.50608.0". Please use sxstrace.exe for detailed diagnosis.
__________________

FoxiStatis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 10:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,024
Default Re: What error is this?

from the quick read it sounds like it's a part mismatch. Did you swap out video cards without reinstalling the drivers?
__________________

__________________
7700k • 32GB RAM • 512GB 960 Pro • GTX 1080 • NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 64GB Nexus 6P || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam/Origin: iFargle
iFargle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 11:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
FoxiStatis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 85
Send a message via Skype™ to FoxiStatis
Default Re: What error is this?

I don't think so :S. It's been like this after a few wipes and it's getting redundant D:
FoxiStatis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 11:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
FoxiStatis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 85
Send a message via Skype™ to FoxiStatis
Default Re: What error is this?

I've never swapped out the video cards i've had this computer from the beginning and it's been doing it forever :/
FoxiStatis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 02:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Pushing Daisies on Saturn
 
Yevrag35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Wisconsin, US
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: What error is this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by FoxiStatis
Definition is Microsoft.VC80.MFC,processorArchitecture="amd64"
Have you installed Microsoft .NET Framework 4.0 or above?
If not, that's most likely you're problem.
Microsoft .NET Framework 4.0 Standalone Installer
__________________


Yevrag35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 08:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
FoxiStatis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 85
Send a message via Skype™ to FoxiStatis
Default Re: What error is this?

It's asking me to repair it when I'm installing it, so I'm assuming I have it, and I'm also installing it again, any other ideas? Because it does this on Ubuntu, and fresh installs of windows 7
FoxiStatis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 01:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,024
Default

What does it say in Ubuntu?
__________________
7700k • 32GB RAM • 512GB 960 Pro • GTX 1080 • NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 64GB Nexus 6P || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam/Origin: iFargle
iFargle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 09:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
FoxiStatis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 85
Send a message via Skype™ to FoxiStatis
Default Re: What error is this?

It did what windows 7 does, for example ill be doing something and it will freeze then I can't reboot into ubuntu. It has done it on several operating systems. It's only on windows it seems to recover and work again.
FoxiStatis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 09:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Murphyslaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chicago, il
Posts: 101
Default Re: What error is this?

I would check the card itself. Heat, voltage, bios status, connection to the pci-e slot. If its on both Ubuntu and Win 7, its probably a hardware issue
__________________

__________________
TOSHIBA Qosmio Lappy - i7 4700MQ 3.4GHz - 16GB DDR3 1600Mhz - GTX770 - 2X 500gb 7200rpm hard drives + 120GB Corsair ssd

Im obsessed with my Samsung(s) My Galaxy S4 and my Tab 3 8.0
Murphyslaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.