what else can i do to fix my computer problem?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-15-2009, 01:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Question what else can i do to fix my computer problem??

Ok, well right now, im stumped on wtf is up with my computer. I changed my clock frequencies n tried IBT - no improvement, i made sure my mobo was getting the addition power - has a plug for that through molex, i updated my BIOS so now my Phenom II 940 is being recognized properly, me changing NB and HT voltages isnt doing anything - maybe NB from my past experiences, i swiped my HDD for viruses, spyware, malware, etc, i dont need to defrag my HDD, my CPU temps are good, i dusted out my computer yesterday, and i just added new RAM with awesome heatspreaders. Why is it that my fps dropped in Crysis and Crysis Warhead when i switched out my AM2 5000+ BE? WHY??!! Idk what else to check!

any suggestions? I really dont want to get a new mobo!
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 05-15-2009, 01:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: what else can i do to fix my computer problem??

Have you tried resetting bios to default?
In case some change was made in there that is affecting your fps?
Specifically I have seen it where certain overclocks can set your pci-e to x1 from x16.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-15-2009, 01:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: what else can i do to fix my computer problem??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hefemeister View Post
Have you tried resetting bios to default?
In case some change was made in there that is affecting your fps?
Specifically I have seen it where certain overclocks can set your pci-e to x1 from x16.
hmm that happened when i updated my BIOS. Should i try resetting again? How would i fix or find out the PCI-E issue? Apok has the same exact mobo as me n i could use his help too.

EDIT:

my CPU has a 125W TDP, the 5000+ BE is lower n yet MSI provided a BIOS update to support my CPU. Should i worry about the TDP level? Like my CPU is getting enough power it needs?
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 05-15-2009, 02:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: what else can i do to fix my computer problem??

A couple of good threads referring to your board with PII.
Help me OC my Phenom II 920 - XtremeSystems Forums
MSI K9A2 Platinum V.1 + Phenom II overclocking? - XtremeSystems Forums

It seems people are having issues with nb settings with this board.
Could be the problem.
I do not have this board so take these threads with a grain of salt.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-15-2009, 02:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: what else can i do to fix my computer problem??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hefemeister View Post
A couple of good threads referring to your board with PII.
Help me OC my Phenom II 920 - XtremeSystems Forums
MSI K9A2 Platinum V.1 + Phenom II overclocking? - XtremeSystems Forums

It seems people are having issues with nb settings with this board.
Could be the problem.
I do not have this board so take these threads with a grain of salt.
thank u hefe. Here is one free internet coupon :

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 05-15-2009, 02:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: what else can i do to fix my computer problem??

Yes what I always wanted.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-15-2009, 09:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: what else can i do to fix my computer problem??



Sorry had to do it...
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-15-2009, 10:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: what else can i do to fix my computer problem??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak View Post


Sorry had to do it...
lol omg saved! That is funny. I will try reseting BIOS and be messing around with my clocks in a bit using mostly the NB.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 05-16-2009, 02:53 AM   #9 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: what else can i do to fix my computer problem??

ok i found out i just got 0x0000004E a few times. I just did a Memory Diagnostic Test, no problems. I downloaded the upgrade to the latest Windows NT 3.51 U.S. Service Pack 1 to try to repair it. Currently, im in need of a debugger n i guess kernal symbols that i can download so i can open up my dump files n see exactly what errors ive been getting. I'm jumping all over the place starting here:

Debugging Tools for Windows - Overview

if i cant fix this soon, i may have to exchange my mobo with a new one but i really dont want to n want to fix the problem myself. I already installed the Debugging Tools for Windows version 6.11.1.404, but when i use it, access gets denied when i try opening up the minidumps. Again, they are Kernal, so i guess i need symbols for that or whatever that is. Any help anyone?

EDIT:

error i get when opening the kernal dump file is: '"C:\Windows\Minidump\Mini010909-01.dmp"', Win32 error 0n5
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 05-16-2009, 03:01 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: what else can i do to fix my computer problem??

STOP: 0x0000004E (parameter, parameter, parameter, parameter) PFN_LIST_CORR

are you running nt or win 2k on this machine?
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEW COMPUTER problem plz helppp edbtzy System Upgrades 10 08-28-2008 02:23 PM
Uninstalled drivers, restarted computer, network problem! turboxchaz Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 07-24-2008 04:20 PM
Very strange computer issues. No one knows the answers. Aiyana Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 03-29-2008 07:00 PM
Computer dead - hard drive problem? SYLiam Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 03-28-2008 11:56 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.