What do errors in Memtest86 mean? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-24-2005, 11:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default What do errors in Memtest86 mean?

Title says it all.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Old 08-24-2005, 11:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Your ram is FUBAR
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-25-2005, 12:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Not familiar with that term, lol. I'm guessing "F**ked Up Beyond Any Recognition?" lol. It works fine regularly, but I overclocked it and errors came up, I'm just trying to figure out what they mean.
Flanker is offline  
Old 08-25-2005, 02:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Flanker
Not familiar with that term, lol. I'm guessing "F**ked Up Beyond Any Recognition?" lol. It works fine regularly, but I overclocked it and errors came up, I'm just trying to figure out what they mean.
simple.. you overclocked it too high, your RAM doesn't like running at that speed
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-25-2005, 02:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Yes, its true. *feels guilty* I overclocked it too far. If there are memory errors, how well will it run during windows? Or is it that it won't run at all?

and do you ALWAYS recieve SOME errors from overclocking, or only from overclocking too far?
Flanker is offline  
Old 08-25-2005, 08:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

if you overclock it far enough to get errors, a lot of the time it can boot up fine, but programs can crash, and sometimes files not written properly on the hard drive leading to corrupt files

and it depends on what RAM you're using, to how far it will overclock before getting errors. usually you can overclock it a certain amount without errors
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-25-2005, 03:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Now I wish I'd gotten a 3700+ instead of a 3200+...
Flanker is offline  
Old 08-25-2005, 03:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Use better RAM while overclocking and it wont be a problem.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 08-25-2005, 04:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

My goal is to equal the performance of a FX-57. Because it has twice the L2 cache, I'm assuming pushing the 3200+ to 3.0Ghz should equal the FX-57's 2.8Ghz. But if I had a 3700+, I would only need to overclock it .4GHz (233MHz FSB) to equal the FX-57's 2.8. Most overclocking ram can do 33MHz high easy, but none can do 100MHz higher.

Thus, I'm regretting buying the 3200+. Its still a very good processor though, I'd just rather have bought the 3700+.
Flanker is offline  
Old 08-25-2005, 05:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 417
Default

The 3200 can oc to 2.7 with no many problems at all.
__________________

Xiahou is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.