What to do after Memtest86? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-12-2011, 01:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 68
Default What to do after Memtest86?

I am having trouble starting my computer, it crashes during the "starting windows" screen. Cannot re-format/install windows. Cannot startup repair or restore.

I burned a cd of memtest86 and used that. Went through 8 passes, found several million errors. Took one memory stick out, and did 5 passes with just one and zero errors. What is the next step to finding out what the problem is and fixing it?

Any help is appreciated, thank you very much for your time.
__________________

Nahledge is offline  
Old 08-12-2011, 02:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY USA
Posts: 384
Default Re: What to do after Memtest86?

If you have a stick that returns 0 errors you can run that otherwise you will need new ram.
__________________

__________________
Pentium D 935 @ 4.0ghz
AsRock g31
Kingston HyperX T1, 4gb
Radeon HD 5670 @ 860mhz gddr5
Antec High Current Gamer 520
InWin Br665 matx
CyberPower Green CP1500 900W UPS
Acer 20" G205hl
Camera Canon PowerShot SX10is
Quote:
Originally Posted by KSoD View Post
1) Be Respectful Treat other members as you would have them treat you. This means no flaming, insulting, or belittling other members.
Thomas is offline  
Old 08-12-2011, 03:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 68
Default Re: What to do after Memtest86?

When I start up Windows after using my password its just a black screen and i have a few pop-ups of programs that are ran right as I boot up like Skype. I am not connected to the internet.

Please help!
Nahledge is offline  
Old 08-12-2011, 03:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY USA
Posts: 384
Default Re: What to do after Memtest86?

Are you using a stick that returns 0 errors? if so you could try a repair, running with the bad memory may have messed up your install.
__________________
Pentium D 935 @ 4.0ghz
AsRock g31
Kingston HyperX T1, 4gb
Radeon HD 5670 @ 860mhz gddr5
Antec High Current Gamer 520
InWin Br665 matx
CyberPower Green CP1500 900W UPS
Acer 20" G205hl
Camera Canon PowerShot SX10is
Quote:
Originally Posted by KSoD View Post
1) Be Respectful Treat other members as you would have them treat you. This means no flaming, insulting, or belittling other members.
Thomas is offline  
Old 08-12-2011, 03:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 68
Default Re: What to do after Memtest86?

I was able to complete a Windows 7 installation. What should I do to prevent this from happening again? Update drivers?

Also, is the stick of memory that doesn't work worthless now or can i repair it?

If I have to get new memory...I have heard good things about crucial but I don't know?
Nahledge is offline  
Old 08-12-2011, 08:58 AM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: What to do after Memtest86?

Is the RAM still under warranty? I would check with the RAM manufacturer if it is still under warranty or not.

Crucial is good; G.Skill is also good (I've used them for several builds and haven't had any problems so far).
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 08-13-2011, 08:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Digerati's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 239
Default Re: What to do after Memtest86?

Note that 1 error in Memtest is too many. No you cannot repair the RAM, but almost all RAM has a lifetime warranty. Contact the RAM maker.

Are you observing proper ESD control to ensure you are not zapping the RAM while handling? Are you unplugging the computer from the wall (or setting the PSU master switch, if equipped, to off) before reaching in?
__________________

__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
MS MVP Windows Expert-IT Pro, Engineering 2007 - 2014

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

─────────────────────
Digerati is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MemTest86 Trotter Overclocking and Modding 11 09-09-2006 11:52 PM
memtest86 JoshSB New Systems | Building and Buying 3 08-02-2006 11:43 AM
Memtest86 TonCrafter Microsoft Windows and Software 8 04-01-2006 09:43 PM
Help with memtest86 everton Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 08-12-2005 10:35 PM
Memtest86+ Wayniac Overclocking and Modding 13 06-08-2005 06:28 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.