What did we do wrong? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-09-2008, 01:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 124
Default What did we do wrong?

My friend and I put his computer together tonight and we ran into a problem

Here is his mobo

http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x...ODSKATEMAP.jpg

His psu that came with his case doesn't have an 8 pin plug for the 8 pin spot, would that cause the error were getting? Which is everything fires up but theres a red mobo light on and his monitor says no data
__________________

dwaynesox is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 01:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: What did we do wrong?

Good skate map?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 01:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 124
Default Re: What did we do wrong?

hahaha sorry bout that

Anyways here it is

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v7...ckert/mobo.jpg
dwaynesox is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 12:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 124
Default Re: What did we do wrong?

anyone?
dwaynesox is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 01:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: What did we do wrong?

what does the mobo manual say? that's the 1st thing to reference
i was going to see what I could find...namely model, but there's a bunch of junk on abit's site and i'm on dialup

LGA 775 : Current Products
I-45C AB9 AB9 Pro AB9 QuadGT AW9D AW9D-MAX
Fatal1ty F-I90HD Fatal1ty FP-IN9 SLI I-45CV I-N73H I-N73HD I-N73V
I45D IB9 IL9 Pro IN9 32X-MAX IP-95 IP35
IP35 PRO IP35-E IP35V IX38 QuadGT LG-95 LG-95C
LG-95Z SG-95

LGA 775: Discontinued Products
AA8-3rd Eye AA8-DuraMAX AA8XE AG8 AG8 Pro AG8-3rd Eye
AG8-V AL8 AL8-V AS8 AS8-3rd Eye AS8-V
AW8 AW8-MAX AW8D Fatal1ty AA8XE GD8 GD8 Pro
GD8-M GD8-MV GD8-V IG-80 IG-81 IL8
IS-85 LG-80 LG-81 LP-80 LP-81 NI8 SLi
SG-80 SG-81
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 04:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: What did we do wrong?

That is additional power for your VID card. My ASUS has this plug. When I use it my computer wont boot. But you say it's a 8 pin plug isn't it a standard 4 pin Molex plug like for your hard drive. The picture is dark but that is what it looks like.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 10:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 124
Default Re: What did we do wrong?

The one with the arrow is but his vid card doesn't have that for some reason, I didn'tknwo some didn't

But ignore the yellow arrow im talking about the 8 prong 12v one near the left side
dwaynesox is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 10:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 124
Default Re: What did we do wrong?

Sorry here I fixed it

dwaynesox is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 01:16 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: What did we do wrong?

That is the CPU power connector. You need to use this to get power to your CPU. You can use a 4 pin plug or 8 pin plug as described on page 6.1 in your motherboard manual. It will show you this.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Keyboard in wrong format Yek Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 02-04-2008 01:34 PM
Sound has gone wrong Kevinator9 Computer Audio and Multimedia 7 01-05-2008 08:38 PM
Whats wrong? <[MaTT]> Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 12 12-23-2007 12:40 PM
XP using wrong hard drive Pericles Microsoft Windows and Software 14 08-21-2007 03:55 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.