What the#$%^& - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-01-2006, 09:22 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9
Default

Simple enough. Allready removed all the programs I could live without. I've been storring all my graphics and many of my documents on CDs. I was able to defrag again, freed up about 20-25%. But I've done this before. And without even downloading files and programs, that little pop-up in the tray bellow continues to remind me that I've got "low Disc space".

Another hard drive in addition to, or to replace the one thats there? Might as well buy another computer? One that doesn't have this partition business.
Thanks again.
__________________

__________________
bmwerx is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 09:49 PM   #12 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,463
Default

You can snag a 200 gig HD from NewEgg.

Western Digital IDE 200 gig - $85.00+$4.99 Three Day Shipping
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144129

Western Digital SATA 200 gig - $92.00+$3.99 Three Day Shipping
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144153
__________________

__________________
Cougar MX330-G / Antec EA650 650W / ASUS GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5 / AMD Ryzen 5 1600 / MSI B350 Gaming Plus
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD / WD Blue SSD 250GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x16GB Corsair Vengence RGB / Win10 Pro x64 / Mionix Naos 7000 / Tecware 87 Key Mechanical

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 10:09 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9
Default

Sounds too good to pass up. 200gigHD. Wouldn't that be a lot of storage? No more "disc space full" pop-ups? I'll have the guys at Comp USA install it for me.

Will my processor handle it; AMD Athlon XP2600 + 213 GHz

They sold this computer to me with my understanding that there was 512 BM of ram. But it's only 480 as stated in system properties.
__________________
bmwerx is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 10:49 PM   #14 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,463
Default

If you can use a screwdriver, you can install a hard drive. And your CPU has nothing to do with how much storage your comp can handle, so don't worry.

You probably do have 512MB, but system properties shows the available RAM (after Windows).

Sounds like your comp is probably faster than mine.
__________________
Cougar MX330-G / Antec EA650 650W / ASUS GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5 / AMD Ryzen 5 1600 / MSI B350 Gaming Plus
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD / WD Blue SSD 250GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x16GB Corsair Vengence RGB / Win10 Pro x64 / Mionix Naos 7000 / Tecware 87 Key Mechanical

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 11:58 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9
Default

I can use a screwdriver but, I also don't change my oun motor oil either.

My work computer has a T-1 connection. My home computer has DSL FastAccess Ultra. There's no difference in speed that I can notice.

Do you use a registry cleaner, fixer or scrubber? You might notice a difference with your speed. Here's a 30 day free, full version.


http://www.amustsoft.com/registrycleaner/
__________________
bmwerx is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 12:12 AM   #16 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,463
Default

I use TweakNow. It's freeware.

If you are wanting to get your system in decent shape, i posted a list. Here's a link:
http://techist.com/showthread.php?s=...983#post534983

If you were in my area, I'd drop it in for free.
__________________
Cougar MX330-G / Antec EA650 650W / ASUS GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5 / AMD Ryzen 5 1600 / MSI B350 Gaming Plus
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD / WD Blue SSD 250GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x16GB Corsair Vengence RGB / Win10 Pro x64 / Mionix Naos 7000 / Tecware 87 Key Mechanical

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 06:18 AM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9
Default

Very generous of you. Thanks. I'm in Deerfield Beach, Florida. I'll put some coffee on!

Yeah, I've run across that one at Majorgeeks.com It's where I get most of my free software.

You were very thourogh in your instruction for that guy. Sounds like you really know what you're doing.
__________________

__________________
bmwerx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.