What the#$%^& - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-01-2006, 02:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9
Default What the#$%^&

Anybody know why my D drive keeps displaying " D drive full"??
I've tried dropping files and programs to the C drive because the pie only shows about 30% occupied. The d drive is always giving me messages that it's full, 98% no mater what I delete or drag and drop the to C drive. It won't let me defrag and disc cleanup nolonger works.

Win XP-Pro Compaq pres. GL 5000

Thanks
__________________

bmwerx is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 03:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

does it give you an error message? you can try to format it in diskmgmt.msc
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 05:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9
Default

No. No error message. I'm stumped.

Question ; Are there two separate drives or just one drive that is divided? I've recieved caution! messages when attempting to drag and drop certain files/programs to the C drive. Something about "shared data" or, "other programs may be useing....
bmwerx is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 05:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

sure it's not talking about your RAM? sometimes you get a notice when your ram is been used up.
__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 06:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9
Default RAM=D drive?

News to me that my D drive would also be refered to as RAM. So, maybe it's time to install another 512 MB?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg keys.jpg (30.3 KB, 51 views)
bmwerx is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 07:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default

Odds are you are referring to your backup partition.

Many newer pre-builts have al the restore information stored on a small partition of the hard drive, instead of actually giving you CDs.

Do not, I repeat, DO NOT try to fool with ANYTHING in that partition. Doing so will royally screw your restoration info.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 08:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

whats with the piano?
Static_11 is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 09:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9
Default

Thought I'd offer a different set of keys. They're actually the type I'm most familiar with.
bmwerx is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 09:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trotter
Odds are you are referring to your backup partition.

Many newer pre-builts have al the restore information stored on a small partition of the hard drive, instead of actually giving you CDs.

Do not, I repeat, DO NOT try to fool with ANYTHING in that partition. Doing so will royally screw your restoration info.
Yes, refurbdepot.com is where I bought the comp. So, am I to understand there's nothing further to be done and I've reached the limits of the ram's capacity and removing/uninstalling programs is the only alternative there is to increase the D drive space?
Thanks for responding.
bmwerx is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 09:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default

Quote:
So, am I to understand there's nothing further to be done and I've reached the limits of the ram's capacity
Not your RAM, but your hard drive's storage capacity.

Quote:
and removing/uninstalling programs is the only alternative there is to increase the D drive space?
Yes. I would recommend uninstalling prograsm that you can reinstall later. once you have done some of that, tranfer any media files (mp3, avi, whatever) to removable media (burn onto CDs or DVDs).

When you've cleared out about 25% of the space, you could defrag.

Best thing you could probably do would be to get another hard drive and install it.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.