Western Digital HD doesn't show up - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2007, 10:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 19
Question Western Digital HD doesn't show up

I just bought a Western Digital My Book 500GB external hard drive. I am connecting with USB 2.

I am using a Dell laptop and when I plug it in I have no problems the drive shows up in My Computer.

But when I plug it into a different machine at the office it won't show up in my computer. I know it's connected and working properly and I checked the drivers and they are current on the desktop.

This drive is for our backups so it's really important that it's up and running but I have no idea why it won't show up in my computer, I can't save a backup to it if the machine doesn't see it in my computer. When I go to Device manager it sees it just fine. Anyone have any ideas?

Thanks!
__________________

GeekGirlHere is offline  
Old 04-17-2007, 11:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Western Digital HD doesn't show up

Some USB ports don't provide enough power for certain devices, which usually includes external hard drives.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 11:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: Western Digital HD doesn't show up

OK, I know what the problem is. On this machine there are 4 other mapped drives from the network. The hard drive is defaulting to drive letter 'F', which is the same letter that is already being used from the mapped drive. Is there a way that I can change the drive letter that the drive uses?
GeekGirlHere is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 09:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 79
Default Re: Western Digital HD doesn't show up

Drive letters for external devices like flash drives and portable drives are dynamically assigned when windows recognizes it.

Do any lights come on when you plug the drive in? Does anything happen at all on the PC or the drive?
ZenOswyn is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 11:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Western Digital HD doesn't show up

Quote:
Originally Posted by GeekGirlHere View Post
OK, I know what the problem is. On this machine there are 4 other mapped drives from the network. The hard drive is defaulting to drive letter 'F', which is the same letter that is already being used from the mapped drive. Is there a way that I can change the drive letter that the drive uses?
you can manually assign drive letters in diskmgmt.msc (type that in start -> run)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Western Digital Drives For AV Products maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 04-09-2007 02:14 PM
Digital In/Out Soundcard. Oreo Computer Audio and Multimedia 5 04-02-2007 07:18 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.