weird temp readings... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-17-2007, 04:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default weird temp readings...

Ok, this was just recently brought to my attention because my pc fell off of my desk (~3ft fall) and the sound went out, then the cpu started overheating, so i checked the temps, and the sound came back, cpu temp went down, and i noticed (its always been there, but never cared) 3 temps that never change. 2 are temp1 and temp2 that are constantly 127C(both are on my IT87122F - ISA @ $290, same place the cpu temp is), and the 3rd always reads 40C (i suspect this to be my NB) and is on ACPI, called TEMP1, is on the ISA bus, and its address is $0 (all from speedfan). MBM5 says the same things for each of the sensors

Quote:
I, too, got 2 funky temp readings from AMD's CPUINFO utility: one temperature that is constantly at 40c. Until I changed the ''Automatic'' CPU settings to ''Manual'' and began upping the clock from the 200Mhz default. Then the temp starting reading accurately from 23c up to 32c appropriately.
found this on the internet. dunno how that would do anything, but whatever.

any ideas? pc is good as new, everything works, already ran prime95 and let memtest86+ run last night when i went to a concert, and it passed with no errors.

got most recent bios, and xp is fully updated with sp2
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 03-17-2007, 05:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: weird temp readings...

first of all that sucks man (3ft fall)!
-first thing i would do is touch the components that the sensor reads, if its telling you 127C and u burn ur finger well then ull know if it lying or not.
-if it seems cool when u touch it then i would drain all the power from the mobo, unplug power and battery from ur mobo so that the sensors can refresh or what not.

tell u the truth, i never trust any software that tells u temps, most of them are just BS results!
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 03-18-2007, 01:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: weird temp readings...

my cpu and hdd readings are telling me the truth, but i dont know about the nb, and whats the deal with the 127c stuck temps, there is nothing in there that hot, i know my SB runs about 50, just by touch, needs a HS, but i got no money for one. yea, i guess its a good thing i left the stock HSF on there, peeps tell me that if i had nything heavier on there it coulda snapped my board
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.