Weird message coming on during BF2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-22-2006, 08:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19
Question Weird message coming on during BF2

Everytime i load up bf2 i get this message in the background of the usb hub has exceded its power limits, I had to get a new usb board installed because all my onboard had died and coulnt be picked up

AMD athlon xp 3000+barton
ati x850 xt
Asus A7V8X-LA / A7V8X-MX SE
some 400w psu that came with the case

Would getting a new psu solve this problem of it popping up everytime im in bf2?

http://putfile.com/pic.php?pic=1/2120475740.jpg&s=x4
__________________

Petryshen is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 10:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

Usually you get this error when the hub has too much pluged into it.Do you have a hub? And if so does it have power to it?
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 10:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19
Default

well if u looked at picture i would have a hub, but i dont know if it has to much plugged in, but would easiest way out just to buy a new psu with 550watts ??
Petryshen is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 10:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

What PSU are you using? (give us a model number so we can save u complicated questions)
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 10:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811146009
this is the case i bought, and im pretty sure it just gives a bland description of the psu,
Petryshen is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 03:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Newegg didn't include enough information to look it up...

If you look on the big sticker on your Power supply (could be on the back of the case, or maybe on the side behind one of the case's side panels), tell us how many amps are @ the +12v rail.
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 07:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

USB hub or PCI USB? Did you install a PCI CARD?
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 11:49 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19
Default

i looked on the psu and theres 17amps on the +12v rail, and yes my computer guy installed a pci card, hopefully this is neough to solve the problem
Petryshen is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 01:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Reinstall the drivers for that card or change slots. You are having a PCI bandwidth issue. You should go into your device manager and check what is running in the IRQ for that PCI usb hub. If it is possible for that device, I would definitely run it in DMA mode and take some pull off your CPU.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 04:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

17A is NOT enough!

Some of your components are probably not even running to potential right now!

18A is the recommended MINIMUM for a system similar to yours... without that powerful graphics card.

Factor in the fact that you have CD/DVD drives, Hard drives, fans, and switches, the graphics card, USB hub, and internal motherboard devices all sharing the current on the 12V+ rail!

A while back, I couldn't start this system on a 450watt 18A psu, and that was with a lesser graphics card and no sound card.

Whether or not your USB issue is a problem of the power supply or not, you DEFINATELY need to look into a new one!

To test though... :
- Unplug any unnecissary 12v devices. These would be your CD/DVD drives (minues the one with the BF2 disk), extra HDs, FANS, PCI devices.
- Start her up, case open to compenasate for loss of fans, and see is you're still getting that error.

Regardless, that 17A@12v+ is an issue.

EDIT::: I just read over this thread again and realized you probably never opened up a case before. The 12v power connections, to all of your devices looks like this:
http://joelsgadgets.com/LEDHELP/Molaxhelp.jpg

However, the ones to your fans may look like like a 3wired one too, just follow the cord comming from the fans and dissconnect.
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.