weird hd or psu power problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-28-2005, 06:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1
Question weird hd or psu power problem

Psu: 400W unbranded to my knowledge but voltages pretty much match the quoted ones
mb: MSI 865xxx 865PE Neo2 ver1.30
cpu: p4 2.8 ghz HT
ram:512 pc3200 single dimm
graphics: 256mb winfast geforce5600
4 WD HDs (2 pata , 2 sata)
no floppy
Liteon CDWR
Pioneer DVDrom
in following config:
Boot (Master -PATA) & HD4(Slave - PATA) IDE1
DVDRom (master) & CDRW (slave) IDE2
HD2 SATA1- primary chnnel
HD3 SATA2-2ndary channel
SB Audigy 2
WLan Pci card
Win Xp Sp2 Pro

problem: with all connected pc powers up and powers down in a second from pressing power button, and to power up again u need to disconnect power to PSU and reconnect it.
If Boot drive and HD2 are disconnected pc boots goes thru post and stops there since it cannot continue to boot but it runs normally, fans etc
the only way i managed to boot the pc so far is to let it run as above for like 30mins then connect the other 2 HDs, power up while holding reset, keep it like that for a minute or 2 then release the reset button and it will boot and run normally for hours.
the 'faulty' HDs were tested on other machines and work properly which leaves us with.....psu problem or???????

Note: The problem used to occur only with boot drive but after disconnecting HD2 and taking it away to my other pc and now bringing it back it acts as above and unfortunatelly the pc shuts down overnite without any presets by me which didnt b4 cos i would just boot it and let it go for days to avoid the problem....
lengthy but hopefully some1 will help thx

skeewiff is offline  
Old 09-28-2005, 10:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 83

I had a problem simular to this but it was actually a faulty CPU

Hawk is offline  
Old 09-29-2005, 01:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to jaydawg3122

in my experiences w/ these sort of problems i dont see the cpu being faulty usually you wont even make it to post w/ a bad cpu i had similar problems w/ a computer i built and i would suggest a larger power supply like 550
jaydawg3122 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.