Weird freeze problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-22-2005, 10:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
Default Weird freeze problem

Okay so my computer randomly freezes while playing games, browsing, surfing and watching movies. Here's the weird part, a few months ago while trying to play some WoW between freezes and forced restarts the power went out. I waited until all returned to normal and got this message before the windows loading screen when I turned the computer on again:
CMOS checksum error - Defaults loaded
Warning! CPU has been changed or CPU ratio changed fail.
Please re-enter CPU settings in the CMOS setup and remember to save before quit.
Press F8 to enable system configuration.
Press F9 to select booting device after post.
Press F1 to continue, Del to enter setup.

At first I tried to press F8, then F9 but nothing happened so I pressed F1 to continue. The computer didn't freeze that night and the day after and the day after that, I thought my problems were finally over, but then disaster happend. It froze again. Since then it has been freezing once or twice in 3 or 4 days.
I tried to do what that message said and select another booting device so I selected the CD-Rom but that got rid of the message and the computer started to freeze even more just like before, so I selected the floopy and the message returned but at least it doesn't freeze that much.
Here are my computer specs: P4 2.8 Ghz, 512 Mb RAM, NVidia FX 5200 128 VRam on a Biostar 8Mb buffer motherboard.
I ran memtest but I got 0 errors and I've also looked at the temperature after it frozed but it was normal.
I just wanna know if it's safe to throw it out the window for all the problems it cost me or if I can still fix it.
Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

I am a hardware noob and I'm also not from an english speaking country so I hope you understood my problem. Thanks again.

NeoMike is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 11:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2

I just resurrected my thread. Hope you don't mind...

NeoMike is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 03:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748

Have you gon into your bios and checked the settings.You might want to go into BIOS and set it to Failsafe default setting.Also it could be your Power Supply.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.