Weird. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-08-2009, 05:53 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Weird.

The...whole tube?

Okay. When you get different thermal paste, you're going to have to clean the old mess off the CPU and the heatsink. This guide loosely explains what you have to do.

Hardware Knowledgebase - How do I clean my CPU/Heatsink? What should I use? - HardwareFAQs: powered by neofaq

Don't know much about any of them, but I would just get the cheapest one since you're not overclocking.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 06:08 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 48
Default

Sweet, Thanks guys! greatly appreciated. I wish I could remember where I read to use the whole tube...And why such a drastic change overnight. Either way I'll re-do this tonight and post back up tomarrow on the results.

Ok now I am really confused. I shut off my computer after my last post and just booted back up to check the forum again, now my hardware moniter is reading cpu temp 26C sys. temp 25C, and SpeedFan is giving me the same readings cept core 0,1,2,3 is reading 33ishC. Core Temp displays the same values. I can almost swear when my comp was running hot my Vcore voltage was in the 2's for some odd reason now its 1.14V, so now I can only assume a weird boot up and the higher voltage was making it run that hot? is that somewhat correct? Atleast I have extra thermal compound now! LOL. Can anyone shed some light on my situation? Should I do a Mem test?
__________________

Wizdumb is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 10:09 PM   #13 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Weird.

Please do not double post Wizdumb, use the edit button.

If your vCore was at 2v earlier you would not have a functioning computer now so I highly doubt it was that. 1.14v sounds a little more reasonable. Higher voltages do make it hotter you're right. I'm assuming those are idle temperatures?
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 10:46 PM   #14 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Re: Weird.

Well the directions that come with the Core Contact state to use a PEA SIZE amount of paste.

I wouldn't consider this a fix Wizdumb...clean up the cpu and heatsink completely of the old paste and re-do in the manner we suggested. After that, hopefully things will stop acting up. You should really stop using your computer until then. Even if sometimes you are getting your desired temperature, it is not worth the risk to leave your set up with an incredible amount of thermal compound...I mean, a whole tube...
__________________

PII 940 :: 5870 :: Rage powered
james.wired is offline  
Old 07-09-2009, 01:11 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 48
Default Re: Weird.

Sorry about the double post it will not happen again, but yes those are my idle temps. James not to sound like a ******* but if you want to go back to the directions, says "Please apply twice amount that usual because of the unique base design." and the directions on a little packet from the thermal paste told me how much to squeeze and lay it on, if I was not instructed to do so I would not have done it. The tube was not THAT big, maybe half the size of the one I just bought, and the amount on the CPU was not THAT much...nothing spilled out over the sides or dripped anywhere. Im not getting desired temps "sometimes" Ive been getting more than desired temps all the time for the past several months except that 1 instance the other day, and it was for 2 hours? any second opinions?
Wizdumb is offline  
Old 07-09-2009, 01:18 PM   #16 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Re: Weird.

So the directions on the TX-2 said to squeeze half the content of the tube?

I'm at my end. Do as you please
__________________

PII 940 :: 5870 :: Rage powered
james.wired is offline  
Old 07-10-2009, 09:51 AM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Weird.

The directions DO say apply twice as much as usual, but the usual size is around a grain of rice sized.

And that tube is huge in thermal compound terms. It's a 3.5g tube. There is ABSOLUTELY NO WAY you had no seepage over the side if you used the whole tube. No possible way.

I could see how you wouldn't SEE the seepage because the core contact is massive, but there's no way there was no seepage if you used the entire tube. It's impossible.

From now on, use something about the size of a grain of rice, or slightly bigger.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 07-10-2009, 11:53 AM   #18 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Weird.

The trick is the get as thin a layer as possible without having gaps in the paste. The less paste there is the more heat transfer there is.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 07-11-2009, 03:52 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 48
Default Re: Weird.

I put the freezer on the board before I put it in the case and I checked it out along the sides. Yeah the layer was pretty thin but I was supposed to make a gap or crevace in the middle to line up with the heat pipes on both sides. Since its still running at good temps, right now (CPU 25C & SYS 25C) ill leave it. When I have some free time the middle of next week I will re-do it and see how much of a diff it makes. Ill even post some pics for you so you can see it diddnt leak.
Wizdumb is offline  
Old 07-11-2009, 10:07 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 424
Default Re: Weird.

Hate to thread hijack here but when i was installing my true 120 it said to apply a rice sized grain on the heat sync and cpu and spread it thinly across. Is that accurate or are the instructions borked?
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by weelilmatt View Post
I need a good gaming desktop that can run 5 instances of World of Warcraft w/o much lag, if any...

I'm not computer savvy.. so i need help! pleasee!! I just need it to be under $1000, just the desktop no mouse/keyboard/monitor
IBM/PS1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
weird stuff at bootup Fat.Clown Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 11-25-2008 02:05 AM
Weird Dream... Drizzt Off Topic Discussion 28 08-18-2008 07:20 PM
D-link G520 Wireless weird problemD-link G520 Wireless weird problem RaptorX Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 06-15-2008 08:23 AM
weird problem...virus? or failing hdd bmxfreakrider Microsoft Windows and Software 1 04-19-2007 08:49 PM
Really Weird Power Boot Problem i_am_a_robot Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-10-2007 08:13 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.