This Webpage Is Not Available Error - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-15-2014, 09:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Default This Webpage Is Not Available Error

Ok so this started a few weeks ago. It has not gotten better and it may even be getting worse. Randomly websites won't load or won't load right. A lot of times i go to sites and i get a message on the screen that says "This Webpage Is Not Available". I refresh, but nothing works. I click continuously until it finally works, but it's annoying as hell to do obviously. I've looked all over the internet for an answer on how to fix this and i can not find one. Also, sometimes when i go to websites, they will show up with the html all messed up with blue links everywhere. I've read to try fixing something in the settings (can't remember exactly what it was, but i tried it and it did not work).

I use google chrome, however this issue happens on both IE and Firefox as well. I've also ran two different virus scanners and neither find any viruses. I honestly don't know what to do, but this issue is driving me insane. It makes it very difficult to browse the internet.

Is it possible my issue comes from my ISP or maybe the router or modem in my house? I've tried everything i've found, but nothing seems to fix my issue. I've also read that it could be a firewall blocking things, but sometimes the web pages will load and sometimes they won't. It's all random. The wep pages are not down either, i've went through all that as well.

So ya. I'm stuck here and very frustrated. Any help would be greatly appreciated and i hope to figure out this problem and get it fixed asap. Thanks to anyone who can assist.
__________________

brusinggiant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 01:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: This Webpage Is Not Available Error

Quote:
Originally Posted by brusinggiant View Post
Ok so this started a few weeks ago. It has not gotten better and it may even be getting worse. Randomly websites won't load or won't load right. A lot of times i go to sites and i get a message on the screen that says "This Webpage Is Not Available". I refresh, but nothing works. I click continuously until it finally works, but it's annoying as hell to do obviously.
I use google chrome, however this issue happens on both IE and Firefox as well. I've also ran two different virus scanners and neither find any viruses. I honestly don't know what to do, but this issue is driving me insane. It makes it very difficult to browse the internet.
Could be a direct browser problem, check for me please ?
Hit the bar on the right hand side of chrome hit about chrome and tell us what version you got.
Same for firefox, not many people are aware of this but google has made a few screwups on their new betas.
You could see garbage webpage scripts, your videos won't load for **** and nothing appears at times.

Now on the other hand, the website or server maybe having problems.
If everything else comes up fine everyhour or daily blame the website for technical problems.
If its every site its on your end, may I ask when was the last time you cleared out browser and windows temp cache ?
Type cmd, type ipconfig /flushdns ipconfig /release all ipconfig /renew.
That way you'll have a fresh start, use ccleaner once I day.
It will help not unless you got programs falling apart everyday.
__________________

-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 01:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: This Webpage Is Not Available Error

Quote:
Originally Posted by brusinggiant View Post
Ok so this started a few weeks ago. It has not gotten better and it may even be getting worse. Randomly websites won't load or won't load right. A lot of times i go to sites and i get a message on the screen that says "This Webpage Is Not Available". I refresh, but nothing works. I click continuously until it finally works, but it's annoying as hell to do obviously. I've looked all over the internet for an answer on how to fix this and i can not find one. Also, sometimes when i go to websites, they will show up with the html all messed up with blue links everywhere. I've read to try fixing something in the settings (can't remember exactly what it was, but i tried it and it did not work).

I use google chrome, however this issue happens on both IE and Firefox as well. I've also ran two different virus scanners and neither find any viruses. I honestly don't know what to do, but this issue is driving me insane. It makes it very difficult to browse the internet.

Is it possible my issue comes from my ISP or maybe the router or modem in my house? I've tried everything i've found, but nothing seems to fix my issue. I've also read that it could be a firewall blocking things, but sometimes the web pages will load and sometimes they won't. It's all random. The wep pages are not down either, i've went through all that as well.

So ya. I'm stuck here and very frustrated. Any help would be greatly appreciated and i hope to figure out this problem and get it fixed asap. Thanks to anyone who can assist.
If it's happening on multiple browsers, then I'd say it's possibly more of a network issue.

What are your network speeds when these issues happen? You can test it on Speedtest.net Are the issues you're having when you're on wireless or over a wired connection? Does it happen on multiple computers (more than just yours)?

Have you tried power cycling your modem/router to see if that solves the issue? Do you have a router/modem combo, or are they separate?
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 04:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Default Re: This Webpage Is Not Available Error

If i checked it right, i have Version 33.0.1750.154 m on google chrome. It has to be on my end somewhere, because it's happening with every single website. Sometimes it loads, sometimes it doesn't. It's completely random like one second it will load fine and if i refresh it doesn't load at all or doesn't load right. I also used Down For Everyone Or Just Me -> Check if your website is down or up? to make sure and that site always says the sites i'm trying to visit is down for just me. I cleared out my cache for everything when i first started having this issue because that's the first problem solver i seen. It didn't work.

I do have ccleaner, so i will begin using that every day. I also have not done the cmd command yet, so i will definitely try that. Also, i should make sure everyone knows it is NOT a virus as i just ran another scan last night and still found nothing.

I am using a wireless router. It happens sometimes to the other computers in my house (all wireless), but not nearly as much as it happens to me. My problem happens constantly every day. My modem and router is seperate and i don't really know what you mean by power cycling it. If you mean turn them off then turn them back on, yes i have done that.

Also, i just tried the speed test and i'm not exactly sure how to react to these numbers, but they probably aren't that great.

Ping: 26 ms
Download speed: 10.87 mbps
Upload speed: 1.71 mbps

Thanks for the help so far guys and i'm definitely still looking for any answers. Like i said before i'll try the cmd command that MikeTech mentioned and we'll see if that fixes anything.
brusinggiant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 04:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: This Webpage Is Not Available Error

What brand/model of router do you have?

I'd look into upgrading your router's firmware, if it's happening to all systems in your house.

I'd also see if plugging in directly via ethernet fixes it at all or not, at least temporarily.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 06:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Default Re: This Webpage Is Not Available Error

I have a Linksys router. However, i have just figured out that the issue is either with our modem or with our ISP somehow. Even connected straight from the modem to the computer with an ethernet cord it still happens. It also happens constantly on the other computers in my house, so it isn't just my computer. Should i try giving my internet provider a call? I don't know what else to do, but browsing the internet is nearly painful anymore because half the time pages don't load or don't load right. Any other ideas are welcome though. Thanks for all the help so far guys!
brusinggiant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 06:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: This Webpage Is Not Available Error

If it's happening directly connected to the modem, with multiple computers... then yeah, give your ISP a call. I'm guessing you're rending the modem from them anyway, and it's possible that the modem is going bad, or the wiring is bad to your modem.

Your ISP should be able to look into it more though, and most likely will replace the modem as the first step of troubleshooting.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hoversnap error: Not enough Storage is Available to Process this Command Cunjo Microsoft Windows and Software 0 12-02-2008 11:53 PM
Outlook error: exchange server is not available. LightingBird Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 11-14-2008 09:12 PM
Webpage not Viewing right in Firefox jaymz Programming 5 02-15-2005 08:41 PM
Webpage not displaying right in Firefox jaymz Internet Software and Browsers 2 02-15-2005 08:24 PM
view as webpage not an option orriel Microsoft Windows and Software 5 01-18-2004 08:29 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.