WD External Hard Drive problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 03-18-2010, 04:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Default WD External Hard Drive problems

Hey guys, I've been reading for hours upon hours on forums trying to find a fix to my problem but i just can't seem to. I think that my disk might actually be broken Anyway, I've got this WD External Hard Drive that I've been using for 3 years or so now. Last night I woke up to a crash and hard drive was on it's side. It didn't fall off of anything, just laying on it's side, but it was also in the process of playing a movie and the movie froze. I've tried everthing to get this to work again. The drive doesn't show up in My Computer, it shows up correctly under devices and printers, and then under disk management, I get this awful screen that is not allowing me to do anything. There is litterally nothing I can do to this under disk management to my knowledge. It recognizes there is a disk there, but it shows nothing where the space should be. The only option is to Initialize Disk which used to not be greyed out but now is. The Initialize Disk just came up with an error though (I think because the disk is not formatted).

http://img180.imageshack.us/img180/4...management.jpg

If someone could PLEASE help me that would be so great. I would really prefer if I didn't have to lose all of the information because my entire graphic design portfolio is stored on there, but at this point, I just want it to work again.

EDIT:
I just wanted to add that I've read the stickie, but I guess I know way less than I should to be posting on these forums. I couldn't figure out what some of that meant.

Old 03-18-2010, 09:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description

Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: WD External Hard Drive problems