WD Caviar black BSOD when installing Win 7 in AHCI - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2011, 05:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Default WD Caviar black BSOD when installing Win 7 in AHCI

Hi guys, I'll try to explain my problem in as few words as possible.

First thing, my build:
Board: Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD4
CPU: Core i7 870 @ 2,93 Ghz
Graphic: Sapphire AMD Radeon 8670
Mushkin 2x2Gb Red Culvert Kit @ 1600Mhz CAS 6-7-7-18
Seagate 320 GB SATA II HDD
+ WD Caviar Black 1TB SATA III HDD
Running: Windows 7 Ultimate
Trying to install: Windows 7 Ultimat
PSU: LC Power Arkangel 850W

Ok so here's the deal. I have Windows 7 Ultimate installed on my 320 Gb HDD and everything is running ok. I just bought a WD Caviar Black 1TB SATA III disk and I want to install Windows 7 there, since the disk is faster.
Here's what happens. When I connect the disk (it is connected GSATA 3 connectors), the disk will be recognized in bios and in Windows, but wont show under My Computer. I figured it must be some software bug so I formatted the disk in diskpart (clean format) and installed Windows 7 on it. At that time the GSATA 3 interface was set to IDE mode. It ran fine but after installing a big batch of Windows updates, the system hung at windows startup screen. After restoring the system to a previous state (i.e. before the updates), the system booted up normally.
I didnt know what was wrong so I formatted again, and this time I set the GSATA 3 to AHCI mode, since I realized this is a better option. When installing in AHCI mode, the computer expands the windows files but when the system is restarted, I get a BSOD (code Stop 0x000000B4 video driver failed to initialize) at Setup is updating registry settings. I really want to use the AHCI mode, but I cant get the system to work in IDE either so its really a bugger. I have no idea what could be causing this as the system works fine when using the other disk. Can the BSOD be caused by the disk? Anyway, I' open to suggestions since I really want to start using the disk. Any help would be appreciated.

Note: I have tried installing Windows 7 from a dvd as well as from a USB key.

Thank you,

J
__________________

JureS is offline  
Old 01-24-2011, 05:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: WD Caviar black BSOD when installing Win 7 in AHCI

What is the BSOD stop error?
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-24-2011, 07:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: WD Caviar black BSOD when installing Win 7 in AHCI

Just to make sure, did you remove Windows from the 320gb drive before you tried to install it on the new drive?
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 01-24-2011, 08:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Default Re: WD Caviar black BSOD when installing Win 7 in AHCI

@ MindoverMaster: I only have the first code its Stop 0x000000b4, i can get you the other sequences if you think they'll help.

@ memory: The 320gb drive has not been formatted, I'm using it now until I can get the 1TB drive to work. This has no concern though since I have only one disk connected at a time - 1TB drive is connected when I'm installing Windows on it. The only time both disks were connected was when I formatted the 1 TB drive using diskpart in Windows running on 320 gb drive.
JureS is offline  
Old 01-24-2011, 08:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: WD Caviar black BSOD when installing Win 7 in AHCI

Try updating your BIOS.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-25-2011, 07:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Default Re: WD Caviar black BSOD when installing Win 7 in AHCI

I have the latest BIOS version for my motherboard.
__________________

JureS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD after installing new processor michaelvvmm Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 56 06-06-2010 12:44 PM
WD Caviar Black 1 TB??? Ejjman1 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 12-27-2009 08:55 PM
installing linux voids best buy black tie warranty office politics Linux and Open Source 9 12-23-2009 10:53 PM
Question about the WD Caviar Black BradS New Systems | Building and Buying 3 12-07-2009 09:27 PM
AHCI causes BSOD 0x0000007B advancedgeek Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 07-10-2007 10:18 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.