Warming up? (not eough power?) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2007, 06:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Default Warming up? (not eough power?)

Hi,

Once again i have a weird problem i can't find a solution for.

When i start my PC it start with a black screen doing nothing, not even a system beep. Then after a while when i power off then immidiatly turn power on it will start up normally. But after a while this "warming up" took longer to start my PC. Now it's already on for 2 hours but i still can't start my PC. Could this be my power supply?

my power supply has not enough Watt for some hardware. So maybe it is my power supply. I realy appreciate some help/feedback. Thank you.
__________________

menyo is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 07:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Warming up? (not eough power?)

Hello,

What are your system specifications?
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 07:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Warming up? (not eough power?)

Srry for that,

asus P5ND2 SE
Intel pentium duo 3200
Ati radeon x1650 serie
1024 MB ram
western digital sata 320 GB harddisc
and a 300 Wat output from my power supply

A month after installation it started. Had to wait for a minute. Last week i waited about 15 minutes till it started up. Now it just won't . Hope someone can help me. thnx in advance.
menyo is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 08:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Warming up? (not eough power?)

Hello,

First, reset the BIOS. You can do this by finding the BIOS clear jumper on the motherboard (if one exists), or more simply by removing the flat lithium cell battery from the motherboard for 2 minutes, and placing it back again. Following that, check to see if the problem persists.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 08:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Warming up? (not eough power?)

I did both, cleared the Cmos with the jumper and removed the lithium cell. Put them both back but the problem is still there.

It used to work perfectly except for the warm up when it was turned off for a while. It's a couple of months old, i bought this one becaus my other system also died.

Could it be my power supply? Just not getting enough power? If so i go get one real fast.
menyo is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 08:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Warming up? (not eough power?)

Hello,

Ensure that all cables and components are connected properly inside the PC.

Next, try removing and shifting your RAM modules around the DIMM slots. Remove one 512MB stick out and try again. Next, swap it with the other 512MB stick and try again. Also try shifting the 512MB module to another DIMM slot each time and power up the PC to see if the problem persists.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 09:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Warming up? (not eough power?)

i have only 1 stick of 1024. I already tried putting it in different slots. Anyway thanks a lot for helping me out. I hope you got more tricks up your sleeve that might fix my PC.

-edit-
Keep in mind that it used to work in the setup i had it.
menyo is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 09:25 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
networkgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: TN
Posts: 367
Default Re: Warming up? (not eough power?)

300watt powersupply

that is your problem, you are probably killing that powersupply and risk damaging other components

get a more powerful PSU. one from antec or coolermaster 400w or better
networkgeek is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 09:42 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Warming up? (not eough power?)

Ok i'll do that right away, I realy do hope thats the case or i'm ending up spending another 500 euro to fix my PC when i would be better off buying a totally new one for a view 100 more...
menyo is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 11:29 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Warming up? (not eough power?)

Whoooooohooooooo!

Fixed it with new power supply. Even got an anoying extra screen out of the way while looking trough my bios . I'm always happy when i get it to run and never look further. I just knew it whas my power supply but i guess i wanted another solution becaus i'm to lazy to go to the pc shop. And i had some jaw surgery today so that kinde hurt also. Now i can finally relax behind my PC and forget the pain .

But i can't kill my hardware by not enough power right?

Thnx a lot all!
__________________

menyo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Power Supply Brinson Overclocking and Modding 4 06-13-2007 09:12 AM
Antec Sonata II Power Problem: BSoderstrom Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-12-2007 05:27 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
Can I use ATX Power supply without -5 volt out jar99 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 05-12-2007 02:28 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.