Volt Modding gone bad! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2007, 10:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default Volt Modding gone bad!

I currently own a 7900 GS and wanted to go past 1.55v. I asked my friend who had done this to his card and gave me a picture of what to do. I started with removing a resistor and putting a 50k ohm variable resistor and then removing two more. Stupid me forgot to get rid of the conductive pen mods I had on it and booted up but, it worked so I noticed that and quickly shut it off. I then used acetone to clean it off and went to turn it on and the mobo doesnt beep like it normally does and theres no pciture. I then look on the board where I did my soldering and I had messed up a little bit and could tell a smaller resistor I guess had partially melted and it was a bit of a mess. I un soldered what I had previously done and cleaned the area till it looked as good as new and tried the soldering again. This time it was much better and looked as if an expert had done it. I then checked the places where I took other resistors out and those looked good too. I tried to turn it on again and the same problem. I then did my conductive pen mod again since it worked like that and nothing. Now for some reason theres no beep or picture but the lights on the keyboard flash. I hope when I send this in for an rma, they accept it. Do I need a cooler on there at all or do I need the stock cooler on it and you think they will notice what I did even if I clean it up real good?

Point and laugh at me, call me a noob, w/e. I dont care. All that matters to me is if I can get my card replaced and try this again. If it matters it turns out the mod is really for a 7900 GTX according to some other tech sites but I know how the 7900 GS, GT, and GTX use the same pcb.
__________________

__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 10:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 146
Default

You is fecked... if they notice they'll return the card to you pointing and laughing, and there's a good chance they will.

On the chance they don't notice and get you a new card, I suggest NOT attempting the same thing, atleast not until the card ya know, actually NEEDS the OC.

And if you do it anyways, yeah get a better cooler on it, as more power = more heat = sooner dead card.
__________________

__________________
http://www.geocities.com/signature_s...dphxnoedge.jpg
System: Athlon 64 X2 3800+
EVGA Geforce 8600 GTS 256mb PCIE
ECS (pile of crap) Mobo
1.5 GB Corsair PC3200
Soundblaster Audigy Pro
Windows XP Pro, Lemming Optimized.
ShackledPhoenix is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 10:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Nah I have a vf-900, that's why I was wondering do I need to put the stock cooler back on or can I just leave the card bare with no cooler.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 11:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Anything I can do to possibly fix this card? What if I did a step up to a different card, how does that work?
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 11:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 146
Default

If you're asking if you need to put the stock back on to return it, yeah you do.

For actual use though, yar that zalman is awesome. Fix the card? not likely, sounds like you pretty well toasted it. I'm horrible at component level repairs though, so I can't tell you for sure. Try the return first, you just might get lucky and get a new one. Worst they'll do is send it back.
__________________
http://www.geocities.com/signature_s...dphxnoedge.jpg
System: Athlon 64 X2 3800+
EVGA Geforce 8600 GTS 256mb PCIE
ECS (pile of crap) Mobo
1.5 GB Corsair PC3200
Soundblaster Audigy Pro
Windows XP Pro, Lemming Optimized.
ShackledPhoenix is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 02:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Dexaroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 551
Send a message via AIM to Dexaroni Send a message via MSN to Dexaroni
Default

eVGA has unconditional lifetime warranty on their high end cards. Check their site, chances are it is still covered under warranty.
__________________
Dexaroni is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 10:37 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

clean up the mods the best you can, put the stock cooler on and RMA it. by the way i think the 7900GTX has a different PCB but the GS and GT reference boards are the same.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 11:10 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Well my stock cooler is missing some parts for some reason. My dad said not to worry about it but I was because I spent the last of my money on a new monitor, ram, and cpu so he offered to buy me a new card for my birthday.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 10:11 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 351
Default

well its still worth finding the cooler parts and rma if ya can,,
__________________

__________________
E6300 Core 2 Duo
GA-965P-DS3
2 Gbs OCZ PLatinum 800Mhz
250 Gb Western Digital
OCZ Modsteam 450W
7900GT Gainward
Flux Capacitor....SWEEEET
OatesyX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.