Vista wont recognize slave Harddrive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-21-2009, 07:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
Question Vista wont recognize slave Harddrive

I recently had a power supply fail in my pc, its not the first time, I built the PC and have pretty much background knowledge about computers. I am stumped on this however, I replaced the power supply, very routine anymore. Fired it up, booted fine, and am currently using it now; however my secondary hard drive will not show up in “my computer”. It shows in device manager as “This device is working correctly” It shows in the BIOS. Every time I restart and go back into device manager the Drive is not listed until I click search for “plug and play” hardware, then it remains listed as working correctly. Also note that it shows as being only 8mb, it is a 120 gig. I’m thinking it’s a partition problem. I have a lot of personal files on the drive and am looking for a way around formatting it to make it work again. Any help would be great; I’m tearing my hair out over this thing. K8V MB, 3200+ AMD, 30gig WD master drive, 120gig Slave drive, Gig of pc3200 Ram. I’m running Vista ultimate, blah.

s281dash554 is offline  
Old 03-21-2009, 07:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Do not Stare at my Avatar
Ste's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,571
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Vista wont recognize slave Harddrive

Is the Drive connected by SATA or IDE?

Have you tried a different Cable and molex connector to the drive.

If that doesn't work try the drive in another computer.

Ste is offline  
Old 03-21-2009, 08:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,799
Default Re: Vista wont recognize slave Harddrive

My guess is either you knocked the data connector out, have not plugged in the power cable firmly or the new PSU is bad. I agree with ste, try another molex and while your in there check the data cable.

There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 03-21-2009, 08:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
carnageX's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 23,133
Default Re: Vista wont recognize slave Harddrive

Make sure the partition didn't get somehow corrupted by looking to see if its recognized in Disk Management.
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 03-22-2009, 04:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: Vista wont recognize slave Harddrive

It is IDE, I went over all connections, changed the data cable and tryed a different power supply connection, it will show in disk management, and in the bios, however it is showing as being less than 8mb instead of 120gb, I think the partition got messed up, and the 8mb is just unnallocated from the original partioning. For some reason the computer will not recognize it automatically, I have to go into the device manager and hit search for plug and play devices, then it will show in computer management. I think its working properly just the partition got screwed up, is there a way to repartition it without losing my data? It seems so simple I just dont want to lose all my data by formatting it. Thanks for your previous and future replies.
s281dash554 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Vista Service Pack 2 Beta KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 0 10-26-2008 01:52 PM
Windows "Workstation" 2008 Clobbers Vista in Benchmark Testing xXxexpertxXx Microsoft Windows and Software 9 03-09-2008 01:28 PM
No More Vista Recuded Functionality Mode. Harper Microsoft Windows and Software 7 12-06-2007 08:53 AM
Download Windows Vista SP1 RC1 Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 12-06-2007 08:37 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:21 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.