vista install problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-03-2007, 07:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default vista install problem

ok tried installing it on my ssecond drive from within windows.. after the first reboot, it just stayed at the blue screen for 2 hours.....

tried installing from a boot... after i clicked the first next, sat at the blue screen for 3 hours lol.


i figure maybe its a chipset driver problem.. i have the evga 680i board... cant find vista drivers


lol so far.. vista is a sack of $hit
__________________

jseber1982 is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 07:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Why not boot off it and install that way?
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 10:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 48
Default

Yea, try booting from the cd, and install that way.

Total install time for vista is something like 15-20 minutes on every machine I've worked with.

Oh, I added you on myspace btw (haha)
zep867 is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 10:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Off Topic *****
 
Rundat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gresham Oregon
Posts: 265
Default

that's why I'm getting vista after 3 years lol.
__________________
Rundat is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 11:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Rundat
that's why I'm getting vista after 3 years lol.
Vista has a lot of issues. I've been beta'ing since the 5400 build. I have a copy of final release and it still has just as many issues.

They implemented some hardcore drm (digital rights management) software to assist in deterring pirated software, which is a deff down side to a user such as myself.

It's laggy. Not horrible but comparable to mce 05.

They added in all these effects to make it look like a mac. To that extent, it is a much more visually appealing OS, but it's not stable.
zep867 is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 04:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

tried installing off of boot. exact same problem. Finally hung up and went no further after the slow install took about 4 hours.

I took my raid array completely out and tried booting off of it and installing onto a single drive... Took 15 mins just to get to the first menu after it loaded its boot files. I think i am gunna put vista on the shelf for about 6 months
__________________

jseber1982 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.