Vista CD won't boot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-04-2009, 12:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
fallenapples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 376
Default Vista CD won't boot

When I go to boot from CD it just goes to the default operating system uBuntu is there anyway I can partion it some it will work. It will not even show the Vista Logo btw I bought Vista Home Premium
__________________

fallenapples is offline  
Old 05-04-2009, 12:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Vista CD won't boot

Hello,

What operating systems do you currently have installed?

Are you intending to format and install Windows Vista, or are do you want to set up a dual boot configuration with Ubuntu and Windows Vista?

Make sure that your CD drive is set as the primary boot device in your BIOS settings before attempting boot into the installation disc.
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 05-04-2009, 12:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: Vista CD won't boot

Like Alvin said, make sure you have your cd drive set to boot priority. Can also try manually selecting the drive by going to the boot menu (usually F12).
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 05-04-2009, 08:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
fallenapples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 376
Default Re: Vista CD won't boot

I was using windows vista ultimate 64 bit I tried from menu f12 it stays bkan is thereany command I can type?
fallenapples is offline  
Old 05-04-2009, 08:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Vista CD won't boot

Quote:
Originally Posted by fallenapples View Post
I was using windows vista ultimate 64 bit I tried from menu f12 it stays bkan is thereany command I can type?
As mentioned, either go into the BIOS settings when you first turn on the system and set the CD drive as the primary boot device, or press the designated key to bring up the boot option menu (from which you can choose which device to boot into). What key this is depends on what BIOS you have installed on your motherboard - the key to press is usually shown at the bottom of the screen when you first turn on the system.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 05-05-2009, 02:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
fallenapples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 376
Default

I have Ubuntu 9.04 on the whole hard drive and usually when I use GRUB it only shows all Ubuntu, I also went to the BIOS and made it boot from CD. I want to get rid of Ubuntu!

It will boot Ubuntu itself and it says somethingn about my ethernet unsuppoted press enter to continue then it brings up the same message
fallenapples is offline  
Old 05-05-2009, 10:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
helix2301's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Datacenter
Posts: 280
Send a message via AIM to helix2301
Default Re: Vista CD won't boot

You are going to need to boot from a recovery cd go to the recovery console try fixmbr then try fixboot then exit and restart. I have done this many times.
__________________

__________________
lipanitech
http://www.thetechnologygeek.org
HP Pro, A+, Network+, Linux+, Security+, MCTS
helix2301 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Vista Boot error sailpog Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 07-21-2008 08:37 PM
Dual Boot XP + Vista peterhuang913 Microsoft Windows and Software 20 04-03-2008 12:15 PM
Vista Boot Crap, Hack, Crack, whatever... cnico88 Microsoft Windows and Software 7 03-28-2008 10:29 PM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Dual Boot XP and Vista jasonhtml Microsoft Windows and Software 24 04-05-2007 01:17 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.