Vista- BSOD :( - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2008, 10:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Default Vista- BSOD :(

I've just bought a new computer:
Dell XPS 420
Quadcore Processor
8800gt Graphics card
2gb ddr2 RAM.

Straight out of the box, I turned it on and I was able to use it for a few minutes and then I got the Blue Screen.
Which was similar to:
http://www.theopensourceactivist.com...vista_bsod.jpg
(flashes on and off so quickly I can't possible read what it says)

I tried returning it to Factory settings and I'm still getting the same error.
It's been fine for the last 4 hours but, I'm afraid that it will just happen, and happen again and especially how Dell hardly offer a Warranty.

When I came to my PC this morning I had a "problem reports and soloutions" page. There was plenty of Microsoft programmes which had shut down unexpectadly and it also showed me Windows had shut down unexpectedly.
When I clicked on more information this is what I got:

"Problem signature
Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
OS Version: 6.0.6000.2.0.0.768.3
Locale ID: 2057

Files that help describe the problem
Mini012308-09.dmp
sysdata.xml
Version.txt

View a temporary copy of these files
Warning: If a virus or other security threat caused the problem, opening a copy of the files could harm your computer.

Extra information about the problem
BCCode: 1a
BCP1: 00005003
BCP2: C0801000
BCP3: 000024C1
BCP4: 024B4282
OS Version: 6_0_6000
Service Pack: 0_0
Product: 768_1"

I'm stumped. Any help is greatly appreciated.
Thanks.
__________________

Kohen is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 10:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
TonCrafter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 879
Default Re: Vista- BSOD :(

Call dell and make them take care of it. At the very least they can tell you over the phone what it might be.
__________________

__________________
Abit IP35 Pro
Core 2 Duo 2.2ghz
eVGA GTX460 1GB
2gig Crucial Ballistix Ram
PC Power & Cooling 510
------------------------------------------
2.33ghz Core 2 Duo Macbook Pro
TonCrafter is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 12:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: Vista- BSOD :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonCrafter View Post
Call dell and make them take care of it. At the very least they can tell you over the phone what it might be.
Is that +1 to post count?

Anyone with slightly more informative information?
Kohen is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 12:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
TonCrafter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 879
Default Re: Vista- BSOD :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kohen View Post
Is that +1 to post count?

Anyone with slightly more informative information?
Well, I was genuinely trying to help, but if that's how you wanna act....

Your "new" comp came with warranty for a reason.

Did you even bother to open up the case and make sure everything was seated correctly? Maybe a ram stick came loose?
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro
Core 2 Duo 2.2ghz
eVGA GTX460 1GB
2gig Crucial Ballistix Ram
PC Power & Cooling 510
------------------------------------------
2.33ghz Core 2 Duo Macbook Pro
TonCrafter is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 12:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 889
Default Re: Vista- BSOD :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonCrafter View Post
Call dell and make them take care of it. At the very least they can tell you over the phone what it might be.
He only got the pc yesterday, i think he would want to try and fix himself which would be easier than goin through the tech support and having to send it off.
__________________
jay_bo is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 12:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
TonCrafter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 879
Default Re: Vista- BSOD :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by jay_bo View Post
He only got the pc yesterday, i think he would want to try and fix himself which would be easier than goin through the tech support and having to send it off.
He wouldn't have to send it off. Tech support could steer him in the right direction to fix the BSOD over the phone.
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro
Core 2 Duo 2.2ghz
eVGA GTX460 1GB
2gig Crucial Ballistix Ram
PC Power & Cooling 510
------------------------------------------
2.33ghz Core 2 Duo Macbook Pro
TonCrafter is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 12:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: Vista- BSOD :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonCrafter View Post
Well, I was genuinely trying to help, but if that's how you wanna act....

Your "new" comp came with warranty for a reason.

Did you even bother to open up the case and make sure everything was seated correctly? Maybe a ram stick came loose?
Nah, I thought they would put everything in properly and perfectly whilst having to make over 50 computers a day so I wouldn't have to check that. :|

/sarcasm off.



In all fairness. I was on the phone 20 minutes yesterday waiting for an answer.
Kohen is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 12:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
PeugeotEnthusiast
 
NayNay1991x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Leicester
Posts: 2,081
Send a message via MSN to NayNay1991x
Default Re: Vista- BSOD :(

Could be a RAM Issue, And by the way that Picture with the Link doesnt Work
NayNay1991x is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 12:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
TonCrafter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 879
Default Re: Vista- BSOD :(

Try switching ram locations and maybe up the stock speeds?
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro
Core 2 Duo 2.2ghz
eVGA GTX460 1GB
2gig Crucial Ballistix Ram
PC Power & Cooling 510
------------------------------------------
2.33ghz Core 2 Duo Macbook Pro
TonCrafter is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 12:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
PeugeotEnthusiast
 
NayNay1991x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Leicester
Posts: 2,081
Send a message via MSN to NayNay1991x
Default Re: Vista- BSOD :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonCrafter View Post
Try switching ram locations
Yeah, Try one stick at a Time
__________________

NayNay1991x is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD on vista boot ZeroShade Microsoft Windows and Software 12 01-21-2008 04:10 AM
xp and vista solidsteve Microsoft Windows and Software 12 01-05-2008 08:35 PM
Download Windows Vista SP1 RC1 Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 12-06-2007 09:37 AM
Now BSOD in Vista; Memory test errors - help! bengance Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 10-29-2007 02:49 PM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.