Vista blue screen...fail - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-31-2009, 12:17 PM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
stb1swat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mexico during school. Washington during summer.
Posts: 728
Default Re: Vista blue screen...fail

What do you mean bare bones? Its as bare as it'll get right now. like you suggested, all I have connected are the essentials.

I highly doubt its the hard drive. As I might have said, this problem started when I tried to install vista on my new SSD. The problem has occured on both drives, the old one and my new ssd.

Shot in the dark: Could this all be because of messed up bios settings?
__________________

__________________

Blushing skin is whispering. slight of tongue, can kill so softly. Velvet lips sing lullabies, so satin sleek but still so costly
stb1swat is offline  
Old 03-31-2009, 02:36 PM   #22 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista blue screen...fail

Have you not applied the update yet? Cause if not then there is nothing more we can say until you apply the BIOS update that you got. Since it is the latest version and according to one of your earlier posts should have the update to fix this.

So if you havent applied that yet you must. Cause until you do there is nothing more we can say aside from apply that update. It must be done. The BIOS you have now is conflicting with Vista and you need to update it. There is no way around doing that.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-31-2009, 03:13 PM   #23 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
stb1swat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mexico during school. Washington during summer.
Posts: 728
Default Re: Vista blue screen...fail

I applied it and reverted back to an old version since the problem was present in the 1.9 version of my bios.

I'm really needing to get back to my schooling so this is taking a back seat for me. Its still something I'm very worried about, so thanks, mak, for all your time.

The current situation is this:
The bios is V1.0 (the original bios of the board). I have XP installed on my old HD. I have not verified if the bsod has carried over/if it was fixed. My NIC will not take the drivers. I have not had the time to get memtest onto a dvd.

I'm attempting to install vista at the moment *again*

The plan is, if vista gets installed, to usb the 1.9 bios version from my lappy and over to the PC and then apply it. If the 0x124 is still present after the bios update and after configuring my bios settings, then I have to assume its the Mboard and lay this to rest. yes? no?

EDIT: I updated the BIOS, and yeah the error still occurs. I should note that after the first install it took a good 2 hours before the 0x124 error popped up. I wasn't doing anything significant either. After that the error occurs more rapidly, and now it crashes within 2 minutes of launching the OS and sometimes crashes at the OS loading bar.
I found out why my NIC wasn't working, but its not related to this issue. Also Windows Updates was unable to work. I had to use CMD to manually turn it off then on again (that solved that issue). Initially i thought the problem was fixed. I installed STEAM, but was a taken aback when only 3 of my 30+ games were showing.
Other such odd behavior has occured. Ram frequency was randomly changed once. Hard Drive bios settings was completely off during one trip to the bios. CPU frequency, aswell, was altered.
There is no way for my to run memtest....
__________________

Blushing skin is whispering. slight of tongue, can kill so softly. Velvet lips sing lullabies, so satin sleek but still so costly
stb1swat is offline  
Old 04-10-2009, 05:59 PM   #24 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
stb1swat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mexico during school. Washington during summer.
Posts: 728
Default Re: Vista blue screen...fail

I put a brand new Motherboard and Ram into it. It took nearly a day, but I'm still getting the 0x124 error.
__________________

__________________

Blushing skin is whispering. slight of tongue, can kill so softly. Velvet lips sing lullabies, so satin sleek but still so costly
stb1swat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Chronic Blue Screen of Death Erilis Microsoft Windows and Software 11 10-06-2008 10:14 PM
blue screen error--stop:0x0000007e guana Microsoft Windows and Software 9 10-06-2008 04:59 PM
Random blue screen gsteffens Microsoft Windows and Software 14 09-10-2008 06:00 PM
Blue Screen before login Chrono Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 07-28-2007 03:36 AM
Blue screen of death aaronkupen Overclocking and Modding 10 06-21-2007 08:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.