Vista blue screen...fail - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-29-2009, 05:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
stb1swat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mexico during school. Washington during summer.
Posts: 728
Default Vista blue screen...fail

Ever since I started the endeavor of adding a new SSD to my system things have gone down hill. Its been consuming my time since 8PM last night.

ATM I've completely ditched the SSD, as I've been able to utilize it correctly, but somewhere along the install my PC's been cursed. First of all I'm having to update all my network drivers for them to even work (never happened before) while this is easily done its unnerving since I'm afraid this means something has happened to my system.

And obviously something has. Every so often everything stops and it goes to a blue screen. The first blue screen passes very quick, but I believe it says something about "hardware vender". It then goes to a second blue screen with a 20 second count-down after which the system reboots with this windows alert.

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
OS Version: 6.0.6001.2.1.0.256.1
Locale ID: 1033

Additional information about the problem:
BCCode: 124
BCP1: 0000000000000000
BCP2: FFFFFA8005DD4030
BCP3: 00000000B2000040
BCP4: 0000000000000800
OS Version: 6_0_6001
Service Pack: 1_0
Product: 256_1

Files that help describe the problem:
C:\Windows\Minidump\Mini032909-01.dmp
C:\Users\swat\AppData\Local\Temp\WER-56156-0.sysdata.xml
C:\Users\swat\AppData\Local\Temp\WER5E6.tmp.versio n.txt
__________________

__________________

Blushing skin is whispering. slight of tongue, can kill so softly. Velvet lips sing lullabies, so satin sleek but still so costly
stb1swat is offline  
Old 03-29-2009, 10:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista blue screen...fail

http://www.techist.com/forums/f9/dec...errors-193078/
How to troubleshoot specific STOP Errors

Bug Check 0x124: WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR

This bug check indicates that a fatal hardware error has occurred.

Looks like you might have to reinstall. As they dont have your parameters listed or a way to fix this issue.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-29-2009, 10:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
stb1swat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mexico during school. Washington during summer.
Posts: 728
Default Re: Vista blue screen...fail

I've reinstalled my OS countless times just today. I've reset the cmos. I've updated my bios....I'm still getting a crash every now and then.

I'm worried my bios settings are screwed up, but I have no real reason to believe why. I tried removing a stick of ram, but the problem has persisted.

Could this point to a broken mobo? I'm feeling really lost right now
__________________

Blushing skin is whispering. slight of tongue, can kill so softly. Velvet lips sing lullabies, so satin sleek but still so costly
stb1swat is offline  
Old 03-29-2009, 10:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista blue screen...fail

I would reset your BIOS to default settings and see if it continues. If so i would try to flash it to either a previous version or reflash the current version on there.

This is a pretty serious error. If it persists even after all that i would be temped to say a mobo issue.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-29-2009, 10:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
stb1swat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mexico during school. Washington during summer.
Posts: 728
Default Re: Vista blue screen...fail

I'm on an asrock board and since updating/changing bios is risky I made sure I checked them, asrock, for their suggested way for changing bios version....They give me rar download with a .exe file that applies said update...I haven't updated bioses before, but that doesn't feel right.

I've set all my bios to default, but I think the problem is persisting.
__________________

Blushing skin is whispering. slight of tongue, can kill so softly. Velvet lips sing lullabies, so satin sleek but still so costly
stb1swat is offline  
Old 03-29-2009, 11:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista blue screen...fail

I would seriously consider updating. If you got the newest BIOS and it is supposed to have the update for this, then it would be advised.

I know that i have done 8 BIOS updates on this PC with no issues ever. I got the PC with BIOS revision A01 and i am on A09 now. The Windows utility makes it so much easier.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-29-2009, 11:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Vista blue screen...fail

If you flash the BIOS and errors/problems still presist, run memtest for least 6 hours.

Bad RAM can cause all sorts of problems..
Ste is offline  
Old 03-29-2009, 11:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
stb1swat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mexico during school. Washington during summer.
Posts: 728
Default Re: Vista blue screen...fail

Well wait. I did update to the 1.9 bios, but then I reverted to the 1.7 bios. I'm guessing its my stick of ram.

I'm going to exchange it for another stick and see if the problem persists.
__________________

Blushing skin is whispering. slight of tongue, can kill so softly. Velvet lips sing lullabies, so satin sleek but still so costly
stb1swat is offline  
Old 03-29-2009, 11:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Vista blue screen...fail

Memtest first, the RAM could be fine.
Ste is offline  
Old 03-30-2009, 12:23 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
stb1swat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mexico during school. Washington during summer.
Posts: 728
Default

Memtest comes in iso form. which means I have to dig around the internet for whatever program I use to use, then waste a dvd on the iso...

Its a STOP 0x00000124 error.
__________________

__________________

Blushing skin is whispering. slight of tongue, can kill so softly. Velvet lips sing lullabies, so satin sleek but still so costly
stb1swat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Chronic Blue Screen of Death Erilis Microsoft Windows and Software 11 10-06-2008 10:14 PM
blue screen error--stop:0x0000007e guana Microsoft Windows and Software 9 10-06-2008 04:59 PM
Random blue screen gsteffens Microsoft Windows and Software 14 09-10-2008 06:00 PM
Blue Screen before login Chrono Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 07-28-2007 03:36 AM
Blue screen of death aaronkupen Overclocking and Modding 10 06-21-2007 08:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.