Virus or Hardware - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-05-2005, 12:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Default Virus or Hardware

Line up ladies and gentlemen its time for one of my least favorite games....WTF is up with my PC: virus or hardware.
Yesterday my computer just froze up. Reboot..freezes at BIOS screen..try to enter setup, itll freeze after 2 secs (system clock is correct tho)..It could almost get to windows(safe)...but alas no more. My harddrives are maybe 6 months old..no odd noises etc.

specs:
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI ATX AMD Motherboard
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Venice 1GHz
RAM: CORSAIR XMS 1GB
HD: Western Digital Caviar SE WD3000JD 300GB
winxp sp2
__________________

imintrouble is offline  
Old 11-05-2005, 01:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

What are the rest of your computer specifications? what is your cooling setup?

What power supply?

Have you added any new hardware or software latly?

What anti Virus do you have?
A fire wall?
any Spyware programs?
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 11-05-2005, 01:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 153
Default

Shove the Windows disc in, and choose the repair option..
Kilew is offline  
Old 11-05-2005, 01:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ste
What are the rest of your computer specifications? what is your cooling setup?

What power supply?

Have you added any new hardware or software latly?

What anti Virus do you have?
A fire wall?
any Spyware programs?
sry bout that..im kind of scatterbrained today
Thermaltake 480w PSU (a bit low i know)
cooling (Zalman 3800 heatsink + 2other fans ...temp is not a problem: CPU is at 32, MB at 38 most of the time.
AV&FW: Norton Systemworks 06
SPyware: Spybot, Adaware

no really recent harware or software..

personally it seems like a RAM problem but i dont know how to test this.
imintrouble is offline  
Old 11-05-2005, 06:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Default

any help?
imintrouble is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 01:13 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 359
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Kilew
Shove the Windows disc in, and choose the repair option..
That won't help as he says it locks up in the bios part of the comp..
kiyotaka is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 01:17 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 359
Default

if it's crashing at the bios. chances are either heat issues, it's the ram, invalid bios setup, or Possibly a hard drive is on the fritz.

make sure all the chips are cool and none are frying hot. (just touch the heatsink)

Try unplugging all the drives and yanking all the pci cards (except video) from the board and see if the bios works fine.
if that doesn't work


try reseting your cmos

If this doesn't work.. Try to find a old stick of pc2700 or something if you have one,. reset your cmos agian (so your bios doesn't try to run the 2700 at 3200 speeds)
and see if it works fine.
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
kiyotaka is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.