Virtual Memory?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-21-2007, 11:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 6
Default Virtual Memory??

Ok, so I was on my computer and i say a message telling me my Virtual Memory was low, so then I searched it on google and what not to try and figure it out. I saw some stuff and I read some stuff that made me think that my computer is in bad shape. Look at this and tell me is anything is abnormal.

Edit: I was told this might be relevant to my computer being slow and having low virtual memory

Chees3Fri is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 11:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
peterhuang913's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Virtual Memory??

the processor clock is bearable but man grab some ram


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-22-2007, 12:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 422
Send a message via AIM to Kubel
Default Re: Virtual Memory??

Yeah, your processor is fine. But you really really need more RAM (aim for 1GB). Until you get more, change your Virtual Memory settings to "System Managed". Fixing it at one size (in yours, it's min 305MB, max 305MB) is a trick that reduces disk thrashing (since Windows isn't constantly changing the size of the page file), but it doesn't help performance one bit (in fact, it can hurt it, especially when your pagefile is filled up).

But definitely look into getting more RAM. You will be surprised how fast that Sempron system will scream with the right amount of memory.
For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ: for it is the power of God unto salvation to every one that believeth
~Romans 1:16
Kubel is offline  
Old 05-22-2007, 11:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
networkgeek's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: TN
Posts: 367
Default Re: Virtual Memory??

yeah for xp you want to try to have closer to 512 mb ram if you can

it helps a lot!
networkgeek is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help With Memory Problem AntonOle New Systems | Building and Buying 7 06-15-2007 12:46 PM
Dedicated Vs Virtual JoshSB Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 04-27-2007 06:41 PM
Computer running out of Virtual Memory. Ckivi Viruses, Spyware and Malware 6 04-25-2007 03:09 PM
Need some help choosing memory before I buy today guitarplyrstevo New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-02-2007 01:52 AM
Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? phexac Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-25-2007 11:03 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.