Viewing issue - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2015, 02:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Home
Posts: 1,105
Default Viewing issue

Hi Guys,

I have an asus x550za laptop that is a few weeks old. It has one hdmi female port to it. I am trying to connect a 3 way hdmi splitter with it. I attached the male end of the splitter to it and I am trying to add my tv and another monitor to it. I used one hdmi cable to hook my tv up to the 3-way splitter. I then used a vgi - hdmi converter to hook up my extra monitor to the 3-way hdmi splitter.

When I try to see if I can view what is on my laptop on my tv nothing appears. I try to select hdmi 2 on my tv to view it but it is grayed out. When I connect n=my hdmi cable directly to my tv i can select hdmi 2 and view what is on my laptop on my tv without issue.

Same goes for my other monitor. Cant see it on the splitter but when I set it up directly i can view it on the other monitor without issue.

What could be causing this issue? Could it be an issue with the splitter not being able to use on the laptop. I have tried 3 different ones with the same results. What am I doing wrong? Can this be accomplished what I am tring to do? Any help is appreciated.

thx
__________________

chara33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2015, 06:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Home
Posts: 1,105
Default Re: Viewing issue

Looking for some help here guys.
__________________

chara33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2015, 10:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Viewing issue

Does the splitter have a power cable with it? Or a port for one?
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2015, 10:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Home
Posts: 1,105
Default Re: Viewing issue

the hdmi switch/splitter has 1 hdmi output and 3 hdmi inputs with no other connections for a power cable. I wonder if this laptop allows this to do what i am trying to do?

thx
chara33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2015, 04:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: Viewing issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by chara33 View Post
the hdmi switch/splitter has 1 hdmi output and 3 hdmi inputs with no other connections for a power cable. I wonder if this laptop allows this to do what i am trying to do?

thx
Check the splitter works by plugging it into your PC and attaching your monitor.
__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2015, 04:31 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Home
Posts: 1,105
Default Re: Viewing issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by i2D__ View Post
Check the splitter works by plugging it into your PC and attaching your monitor.
it dont but how do i know if laptop is capable of doing this as i have tried 3 different switches none has worked
chara33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2015, 03:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: Viewing issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by chara33 View Post
it dont but how do i know if laptop is capable of doing this as i have tried 3 different switches none has worked
Your laptop should be able to connect to your TV. If you say it's not working on your PC then it's broken. Just make sure you select the right source on your TV when laptop is connected and try duplicate your screen or extend it.
__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2015, 03:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Home
Posts: 1,105
Default Re: Viewing issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by i2D__ View Post
Your laptop should be able to connect to your TV. If you say it's not working on your PC then it's broken. Just make sure you select the right source on your TV when laptop is connected and try duplicate your screen or extend it.
hdmi - usb adapter did the trick.
__________________

chara33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
viewing code from an executable file Mjmitch2 Programming 8 07-15-2004 07:30 AM
Viewing PHP websites... Chimp3h Internet Software and Browsers 2 05-02-2004 06:36 AM
Viewing Detailed System Logs on Win98 star_topology Microsoft Windows and Software 0 04-29-2004 11:23 AM
viewing pictures in emails mzpatti Microsoft Windows and Software 4 10-25-2003 09:41 PM
Viewing Jpg's on TV via DVD terrystimpson Microsoft Windows and Software 1 10-25-2002 08:06 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.