Video RAM missing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2009, 04:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Digital_Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Amarillo, Texas
Posts: 141
Default Video RAM missing

I have an old dell insprion 6000 laptop with intergrated video on the motherboard. When i first got the computer, it had 128MB video memory. I have had to reformat and re-install windows XP pro due to viruses and such... but now I am only getting 98MB video memory to show. I used my service tag # to get the correct drivers from the Dell service site. I went into the BIOS to see if I can change it there but nothing, I have done a BIOS update and everything. I even went to the display prop., settings, and advanced but there was nothing to change there... not even shared memory. any ideas?
__________________

__________________
CPU: AMD 64 Athlon X2 5600+
Motherboard: ASUS M2N-e nVidia nForce 570 Ultra
Video Card: nVidia BFG tech 260 gtx max core
RAM: 4 GB G.Skill RAM
PSU: hec ACE-580UB 580W PSU
Case: APEVIA X-Plorer Blue ATX Case
Hard Drives: x2 160GB WD HD, x1 80GB WD HD, x1 320GB WD HD
OS: Windows 7 Pro 64bit
Digital_Jedi is offline  
Old 01-14-2009, 04:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Video RAM missing

A lot of times manufacturers will round up the amount of memory. So even if it's labeled as 128mb, it might not actually have 128mb of memory.

That, or you have something soaking it up. I know the Vista Aero theme uses the video card, but I'm not sure if XP's theme is similar and uses the video card. If so, that would explain it.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 01-14-2009, 04:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Digital_Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Amarillo, Texas
Posts: 141
Default Re: Video RAM missing

it would but I remember using system requirements lab and it said I had 128mb... after reformat it now shows 98mb
__________________
CPU: AMD 64 Athlon X2 5600+
Motherboard: ASUS M2N-e nVidia nForce 570 Ultra
Video Card: nVidia BFG tech 260 gtx max core
RAM: 4 GB G.Skill RAM
PSU: hec ACE-580UB 580W PSU
Case: APEVIA X-Plorer Blue ATX Case
Hard Drives: x2 160GB WD HD, x1 80GB WD HD, x1 320GB WD HD
OS: Windows 7 Pro 64bit
Digital_Jedi is offline  
Old 01-14-2009, 04:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Video RAM missing

is it nvidia graphics? because you can get the exact chip drivers for your a card instead of off of dell. they would be more up to date then dell.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 01-14-2009, 05:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Digital_Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Amarillo, Texas
Posts: 141
Default Re: Video RAM missing

no... it an intel 910 or something like that. and isn't a card... onboard video.
__________________
CPU: AMD 64 Athlon X2 5600+
Motherboard: ASUS M2N-e nVidia nForce 570 Ultra
Video Card: nVidia BFG tech 260 gtx max core
RAM: 4 GB G.Skill RAM
PSU: hec ACE-580UB 580W PSU
Case: APEVIA X-Plorer Blue ATX Case
Hard Drives: x2 160GB WD HD, x1 80GB WD HD, x1 320GB WD HD
OS: Windows 7 Pro 64bit
Digital_Jedi is offline  
Old 01-15-2009, 03:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Video RAM missing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digital_Jedi View Post
no... it an intel 910 or something like that. and isn't a card... onboard video.
Intel 950 maybe, I don't believe they made a 910. Might've made an 810...

Whatever it is you can get drivers from Intel's site, too. Thing to remember with Integrated video is that the amount of memory it's using changes depending on what it's doing. So it might see less but that's because it's using less. Have you tried any benchmarks by chance that have gone down in score, that sort of thing?
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.