Video is as if I'm downloading a huge jpeg on dialup - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-04-2006, 08:18 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

that sucks about the video card being stolen. ok i've changed my mind now and agree with you it does sound like a messed up video card

Visit my website -
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 08:29 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 24

The card works good in my other computer. Is just this **** BIOS not configuring at boot! (I think). The PnP-OS option is hidden in the BIOS and I can't a (working) tool to unhide it!

It's funny that I ordered another AGP card. Hopefully I have better luck this time

I once had a $150 headphone amp snatched since it was left outside the mailbox & the post office/landlord don't do jack about it. I got a refund but still...

sumone is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 09:41 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349

ahh, the courier re-emburses for stolen items... right? thats why lots of times UPS doesnt even leave a package if there isnta secure place to drop it... becuase the company would need to pay for the stolen item and the driver probably gets a ear full and or finantial loss.

i never heard of that card, but this describes it right?...

from what that says it has 8mbs of integrated memory? does that mean it usess system ram, like a integrated IGP?

If so thats what the prob is, you just using way to outdated technology with a system that doesnt support it... what is that thing like 15yrs old? you know you could solve your issue by just getting any other Graphics card.
jolancer is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 11:19 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 24

The way I understood it (regarding the post office/courier)..."there's nothing we can do about it".

I can't believe you actually found it on ATi's site...I've been looking all over for the official docs/specs! It uses its own memory; not an integrated setup. To me, if you can see the screen at a decent resolution & the colors don't look funny, the card suits the job. I've been going off of onboard video (sometimes with only a 4MB or 8MB reservation of system ram) with no problems that makes me wanna grab some super-duper card.

The first new card I ordered was an nVidia GeForce4 MX 420 (for about $15). The second (that I will hopefully receive) is a GeForce 256 w/32MB for about $22.

sumone is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.