VIdeo Freeze and Audio Looping - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-27-2006, 05:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 145
Default VIdeo Freeze and Audio Looping

MSI K8T Neo2-FIR (AMI BIOS)
AMD Athlon64 3000+ (Winchester core, stock 1.8GHz)
Corsair XMS 1GB (2x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Unbuffered DDR 400 (PC3200) Dual Channel
ATI Radeon 9800 PRO 128MB (AGP 8x, latest drivers and CCC)
Windows XP Home w/ Service Pack 2
Maxtor Diamond10 200GB SATA hard drive

Long story short, I try to play any game, it will give me the video freeze and audio looping problem. Even in Counter-Strike 1.6 (a 5+ year old game), right when it loads up and I click a menu option, it will freeze the video, make the audio loop very obnoxiously for a few seconds, and then my monitor will go off, and I'll have to hold the power button for 5 seconds.

Outside of that problem, my Windows and ATI Catalyst Control Panel and both tweaked to the settings I want. On this page where it documents my problem and possible solutions, it doesn't work for me because I have fast write and write combining off, and I've never overclocked my video card. ATI Tool reports my core at 378MHz and the Mem at 337.50MHz, and I average over 140fps in the ATI Tool 3D window. I can provide any other information necessary, just ask, and hopefully we can fix this problem.
__________________

synth7 is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 05:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

first off, has the system as it is set up now ever played these games properly or has it always been a problem?
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 02:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 145
Default

It used to play all the games fine. Someone on another forum mentioned it could be the video card overheating, but the side of my case (black X-Blade, if you want to google for pictures) has a fan blowing right at the video card, and it's not overclocked.

Also, running Prime95 gave me a FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.5, expected less than 0.4 after 17 minutes of running. What could this be?
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ @ 2.5Ghz | ASUS A8N-SLI | 2GB Corsair XMS DDR400 [SIZE=\"1\"](2-3-3-6)[/SIZE] | eVGA GeForce 7900GT [SIZE=\"1\"](500/1500)[/SIZE] | 1TB of SATA harddrives | SB X-Fi | Antec TruePower2.0 550W
synth7 is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 03:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

can you check your cpu temp? also try uninstalling and reinstalling your graphics card and sounds card drivers. ifyou recently updated either try a rollback first.
Also i doubt the fatal error is related, a compatability issue perhaps, you might also test your ram.
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 03:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 145
Default

My RAM tests out fine, no errors in Memtest running for a few hours.

The CPU temp brings me to a different issue I had forgotten about. Before I flashed my BIOS, my CPU temp would read a normal 30C or more at idle, now with the new bios, however after my BIOS flash, everything (Everest Ultimate Edition, Motherboard Monitor, even the BIOS itself) sees the CPU temperature as never more than 20C, and sometimes at 12C, which I am postive is a false reading. I don't know if that could have anything to do with it. I've unisntalled and reinstalled ATI's Catalyst Control Center and Radeon drivers countless times.
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ @ 2.5Ghz | ASUS A8N-SLI | 2GB Corsair XMS DDR400 [SIZE=\"1\"](2-3-3-6)[/SIZE] | eVGA GeForce 7900GT [SIZE=\"1\"](500/1500)[/SIZE] | 1TB of SATA harddrives | SB X-Fi | Antec TruePower2.0 550W
synth7 is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 03:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 145
Default

Please see THIS POST as I also posted my problem there, and things have changed.
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4400+ @ 2.5Ghz | ASUS A8N-SLI | 2GB Corsair XMS DDR400 [SIZE=\"1\"](2-3-3-6)[/SIZE] | eVGA GeForce 7900GT [SIZE=\"1\"](500/1500)[/SIZE] | 1TB of SATA harddrives | SB X-Fi | Antec TruePower2.0 550W
synth7 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.