Video frame rate problem. New processor required? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-23-2006, 01:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
Default Video frame rate problem. New processor required?

Ok well after all these years I finally got DSL! I figured that I might finally be able to watch videos online, since the videos are supposed "stream". However, the dreaded fear that my computer was outdated came back to haunt me. I have tried running videos online and offline with dial-up but always the videos played choppy/pulsy/stuttery almost. The frame rate is horrible... and the sound plays but stutters every second or two. It is so bad that it's impossible to watch anything.

Just a week ago, I figured that it might well be the RAM so I added an extra 256mb to my existing 128mb. I also found a new linksys router on sale for $15.00 since I didn't trust the one that came with this computer. I felt it was outdated (due to the fact that the adaptor was only the size of a quarter).

So the wait is finally over, the internet is running fast, I can listen to music and download in seconds. But when I went to go play a video on youtube my jaw dropped as the old problem persisted.

I've updated my DirectX driver, and attempted to update my video driver and I've come to the conclusion that my 433mhz processor is much too slow to run videos

Would it make since to upgrade my processor? I would have to have to get a whole new computer just yet.

So some specs:
-Windows 98SE
-433mhz Celeron Processor (66 x 6.5)
-Sis 620 video card
-10gb hard drive
-384mb RAM (pc100)
-computer company is TDN (it was local... until they went bankrupt)

thanks for reading, sorry for the rambling [I tried to keep it brief].

rdbowen is offline  
Old 12-24-2006, 08:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

what i need to know is what type of Celeron you have there. is it a Slot1 or a PGA370? it's simple to tell. the Slot1 processors come in a large cartridge that looks like this:

if you don't see anything that looks remotely like that you must have an s370 processor. either way you should be able to get a processor at least up to about 1GHz and that should solve your lag.

Visit my website -
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-24-2006, 12:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Jorsoft's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581

Try updating your video and sound drivers if you can before upgrading. Also grab the latest version of WMP that works with 98se and the codec packages.
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 12-24-2006, 12:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068

i got same setup, just higher fsb. if you can raise ur fsb a little do that, also you should look into a better video card...these systems are so outdated you cant do any real upgrading...wel you can but the cpu u choose has to run at 2v, 66mhz fsb, etc. cant go for the newer ones that run at 1.75v and 133fsb.

would just be better to save ur money and go to newegg and build a cheap all in one system (get a mobo/vga/cpu combo and thro on 512mb of ram onto it with a 350w ps and just get the rest from the old rig

these would be good if u had the money

total comes to 162.97 before taxes and shipping.
(which is pretty cheap for a computer)
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 12-24-2006, 05:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2

It's a PPGA Celeron Socket-370
rdbowen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:23 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.