Video Card Testing software -- Yes this problem is still haunting me. - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-07-2009, 03:14 PM   #31 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: Video Card Testing software

Quote:
Originally Posted by james.wired View Post
If all goes well with Riddick then it's safe to say it was a PSU related issue then?
Give me a day or so. However since i was able max out Riddick last night, it's a good sign that it's the PSU.
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 12-09-2009, 02:01 AM   #32 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: Video Card Testing software

I just had my first BSOD with the same page error.
And this time I was just booting up in windows.

- Video Card.
- Motherboard.

I would really like to avoid having to RMA my motherboard over christmas break.

[EDIT]One thing that i have been noticing that before game crashes, my monitor will quickly go black and turn on again. At first, I though this might of been a power surge. However just then I noticed this flicker, the game will freeze, and then I will have my BSOD. I am going to change the video card over as I have a spare FX8600 512Mb as see how that goes.[/EDIT]
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 12-10-2009, 05:55 AM   #33 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: Video Card Testing software

Same error is popping up again with the new video card. Has to be motherboard.

Unless I can get a direct contact with directly with Gigabyte some time next week, I am just going to have to wait until the new year to get this matter sorted out. I don't like RMAing any thing over the christmas break.

So I am going to do deal with that in the new year.


[EDIT]I don't think this is going to do much, however I have updated my BIOS to the latest version. At this stage, the problem is intermittant. 95% of the time, the BSoD is only happening when I am playing games. Some times this is happening every 30 minutes of play, other times I can get an entire night with out any issues. Provided that it does not get any worse that this, I can tollerate it.

Anyways, I just flashed the BIOS and installed the oringal HD4890 back in as see how that goes first.[/EDIT]
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 12-12-2009, 03:56 PM   #34 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WI, USA
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via MSN to yzmxer608
Default Re: Video Card Testing software

Sucks to here it's something you have to RMA, hope it goes alright with mailing so you can get a replacement quick. Good luck with it though .
__________________
yzmxer608 is offline  
Old 12-12-2009, 06:26 PM   #35 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: Video Card Testing software

Quote:
Originally Posted by yzmxer608 View Post
Sucks to here it's something you have to RMA, hope it goes alright with mailing so you can get a replacement quick. Good luck with it though .
I got a back up plan for the christmas holiday break just in case they can not get the motherboard back from RMA by Christmas time. However i have found that a lot of distributors at this time of the years seem quickly process RMA by giving out new replacement stock or issueing credit notes. So I am hoping that i can luck out on that.

In the means time, I am getting my back up plan ready. However I will need to clear a hard drive first.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 12-12-2009, 06:38 PM   #36 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WI, USA
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via MSN to yzmxer608
Default Re: Video Card Testing software

Good to hear you have a back up plan. Hope all goes well for you .
__________________
yzmxer608 is offline  
Old 12-14-2009, 03:21 PM   #37 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: Video Card Testing software

Good News. I had my supplier call me up yesturday afternoon and he was able to organise the straight swap with the motherboard. I will be picking that up in a few hours times.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 08:50 PM   #38 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: Video Card Testing software

GAH!!!! I am still getting the occasion BSoD with the new replacement MoBo.
Not as bad as a last time. I am going to see about testing the ram module that I got back from RMA first.
A few week ago, I did have 1 ram module that failed MemTest. I only got the replacement back the day before getting my MoBo back.

I will also need to see if this is happening on other games besides Champions Online. There as been a few reports of BoSD with people running ATi Video cards on that came.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 11:06 PM   #39 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Video Card Testing software

I don't know if you did this already, you probably have.

Have you tested the voltages on the PSU?
Ste is offline  
Old 04-03-2010, 05:44 PM   #40 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: Video Card Testing software

This problem has been haunting me for the last 3 months. Most of the time, I have been ignoring it. 2 days ago, I findally got around to changing the power supply. It's a coolermaster 750W.

However tried playing Borderlands and 15 minutes into the game I get the same BSoB.

Occasionally i get windows telling me that there is a memory problem. however I have run memory tests all night long, and not get a single error.
However there has been ther times where I have been bitorrenting over night and then have the computer restart itself.


[EDIT]I am replacing the heat sink from the Asus LionSquare back to AMD Stock Heat Sink.[/EDIT]
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help With New Video Card Hunter434 System Upgrades 11 09-21-2009 06:30 PM
Which video card to go with? Ksingler System Upgrades 4 03-20-2009 07:44 PM
New video card. 35g700 New Systems | Building and Buying 16 03-20-2009 03:45 PM
Possible video card issue -- ATI X1650 houndofspace Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 12-04-2007 02:17 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.