Video Card: problems with playing movies - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-16-2005, 05:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10
Default Video Card: problems with playing movies

Hello. I'm not sure if this goes here or not, if not please move it to the right forums. Anyways, I just installed a new video card... a Geforce 6800. Games are looking great. However, when I play a video in either WMP, Quicktime, or even DivX, the colors are all screwed up... it looks like it's in really high contrast or something. When I play videos online I don't have this problem, though.

Is there something wrong with my video card? How can I fix this problem?
__________________

iamacomputer is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 06:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Go into your system properties:



I had this too with the same card.
This will fix it.
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 07:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10
Default

It didn't fix it.

Anything else I can do?
iamacomputer is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 07:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

hrmmmm. Were your initial settings in system performance set to performance or appearance to begin with ?

If you were set to performance you need to go into the properties of your wmp or whatever you watch the movies on and check for settings having to do with graphic qualities.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-17-2005, 12:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10
Default

My initial settings were set to performance. I looked all over WMP and there isn't any options in there for graphical qualities.

Anything else that would help?
iamacomputer is offline  
Old 09-17-2005, 03:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Try a different media player.

Here's a great free one:
http://www.videolan.org/vlc/
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 09-17-2005, 04:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10
Default

It's not just a WMP problem, it's a problem with playing videos overall (WMP, Quicktime, Realplayer, and DivX). That's why I'm posting here, I though it was a hardware problem.
iamacomputer is offline  
Old 09-17-2005, 07:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10
Default

I downloaded that other media player and I'm still having the same problem...
iamacomputer is offline  
Old 09-18-2005, 12:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Do you have the latest drivers? From nvidia.com???
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 09-18-2005, 09:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

I had the EXACT same problem as you have. the colors are incorrect, smeared, super high contrast. At first i thought it was a dual monitor issue, so I disabled and unplugged my second monitor and tried playing an Mpeg. no luck. HOWEVER, Quicktime ran without problems. so try that. the downside to quicktime is that it doesn't play .wmv's.

I'm sorry, but the only thing that completly fixed it for me was a reformat.
__________________

Mr. Switch is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.