Video Card Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-20-2005, 03:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 12
Default Video Card Problem

i just bought a video card today, a Leadtek PX6600 TD Geforce 6600 256 mb PCI express card , and when i went home i put it into my Dell 4700 Dimension everything fit in place. when i hooked up my monitor into my graphics card and turned on my computer, nothing shows up on the monitor. Can someone please help me out????

"links show u the specs"
__________________

ihatepopups is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 03:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

wow i like you that is the most thorough first post i've seen. my bet is that you need to disable the onboard graphics. plug the monitor cable back into the onboard and see if anything comes on screen.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 01:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 12
Default

lol ty. im 14 and this is my first time trying to mess around with my computer . would my onboard graphics me "Intel(R) Graphics Media Accelerator Driver?" and how do i disable it ty!
ihatepopups is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 01:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

you push F1 or del to enter the bios, and change the primary or initial display to your new card...
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 01:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 239
Default

Go into device manager(i.e. right click on my computer, click properties, click the hardware tab, and click device manager). Find your integrated graphics under the display adapter menu, right click your Intel Integrated Graphics, click disable....restart the computer, plug your monitor back into your new graphics card and you should be alright.
BandwidthHogg is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 01:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

if he changes the initial display, their is a chance that he could set up duel displays...
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 02:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 12
Default

well i went to device manager then display adapter menu, the only two things below it was Intel (R) 82915G/GV/910GL Express Chipset Family (theres two of them). i disabled both and it still doesnt work >.>
ihatepopups is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 03:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

well, if there are two of them, then that probably means that the driver for your onboard card is installed twice or something... remove one of them...

then:

Quote:
Originally posted by Juice Daddy
you push F1 or del to enter the bios, and change the primary or initial display to your new card...
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 03:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 159
Default

You might want to go into safe mode and uninstall your previous video driver.
Danks is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 04:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 12
Default

i tried uninstalling, disabling, that didnt work

i went to BIOS and there was no option for disabling onboard video
__________________

ihatepopups is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.