Video card problem? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2006, 05:24 AM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 12
Default

So,what should i do now? I will have to wait like 4 months to buy a new graphic card........isn't there a way to fix my problem?
__________________

malafaia is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 05:13 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

no not really other than updating the drivers there is nothing u can do its just toast and you will need to get that graphics card. double check that your processor isn't overheating though.
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 06:24 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 12
Default

I don't know how to check if my processor is overheating....
--

I have 2 PCs here,the other one has a brand new graphic card.....but its the same as this one......and i sort of don't know how to switch the graphic cards...I don't know how to work with hardware.....can you give me some help? link me some site?
malafaia is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 09:07 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

http://cpu.rightmark.org/download/rmclock_215_bin.exe

this may not work if you dont have a sensor on the cpu
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 10:07 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 12
Default

Just figured out that the problem is with overheating......not because of that program,but because it crashed when i had a lot of programs running and media player =O

Now I'll just have to do something about overheating.

btw I installed that program you sent me.......I don't really know how to use it :/
malafaia is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 01:06 AM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

it was just meant to show your cpu temperature.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 05:13 AM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 12
Default

But it just overheat when im playing games,so I mean,i will never be able to see the temperature right when the cpu crash,because all the games are full-screen.
malafaia is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 11:35 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 56
Default

how high is the temperature though?
__________________
The rigs:
1- ASUS P4S800D-X / INTEL PENTIUM 4 3000MHZ HT FSB800 / 1GB DDR RAM KINGSTON VALUERAM DUAL CHANNEL / AOPEN AEOLUS GEFORCE FX 5200 128MB/ 160GB MAXTOR DIAMONDMAX 9 ATA-133 / 10.2GB FUJITSU ATA-66
2-PC CHIPS M825G V9.2C / AMD ATHLON DDR 1333MHZ (2666 EFFECTIVE) / 1GB DDR 400 AT 333 (DUE TO ONE DDR 333 STICK / NVIDIA GEFORCE 4 MX 4000 / 120GB MAXTOR DIAMOND MAX 9 / 60GB MAXTOR DIAMONDMAX 9
3-Dell Optiplex G1 / Intel Pentium II 400 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 4.2GB WD HDD / Some onboard crap 2MB card
4- ABIT BH6 / Intel Celeron 366 / 128MB RAM / 2GB Quantum HDD / 8MB ATI Rage 3D Pro
5-Intel SE440BX / Intel Pentium II 350 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 40GB Maxtor HDD / Matrox MGA Millenium G200 8MB
6- IBM Machine E5U / Intel Pentium II 350 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 3.2GB IBM HDD / 2.1GB Quantum Bigfoot HDD / ATI Rage IIC 4MB (BIOS says Mach 64)
7- Intel SEA440LX / Intel Celeron 333 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 4.2GB WD HDD / 4MB ATI Rage IIC
8- Intel AN430TX / Pentium MMX 200 / 96MB RAM PC-100 / 850MB WD / 524MB Seagate / ATI <ach 64 2MB
lhuser is offline  
Old 09-14-2006, 03:00 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 12
Default

I'm not sure.....

It seems its getting worse....sometimes im just talking on the msn with the media player on and the PC shuts down...
malafaia is offline  
Old 09-14-2006, 03:17 PM   #20 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default

Sounds like an overheating problem for sure. Is the fan running at all? Open the case and let a fan blow in there and see if it helps.
Also you may want to go into the BIOS and see if you can change your fan settings. You may have defaulted to "off" when you reformatted. Most can be set to "always on" or a few other options.
__________________

__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.