video card only showing 64mb of ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-29-2007, 06:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Exclamation video card only showing 64mb of ram

Hi I have a Nvidia Geforce FX 5500 PCI and it is only showing 64mb of ram out of the 128 avalible . I have overclocked it and I beleve that is the problem but if anyone has any info on what might of caused this please help me. sorry if it is in the wrong thread.

sys specs
Pentium D 940
ECS mobo Nforce 570 slit-a
80gb hdd
512mb of ram
geforce fx 5500 pci
apevia x-cruser case black
__________________

philbar71 is offline  
Old 04-29-2007, 06:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: video card only showing 64mb of ram

when you overclock it you overclock the core speed and the memory speed not the size of storage. is it DDR or DDR2?
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 04-29-2007, 08:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: video card only showing 64mb of ram

it is ddr and i know that you dont change mem sizes just speeds
philbar71 is offline  
Old 04-29-2007, 08:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: video card only showing 64mb of ram

i also think that i mabye burned out the one of the little ram modules on the card from overheating it was stock: core=270 mem=800 overclock: core=370 mem=1.1ghz pretty good speeds i think for a basic card
philbar71 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Conflict between PCI Video card and PCI Wireless Network Adapter otaku_mike Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 06-13-2007 01:01 PM
damaged video card sb14blue Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-13-2007 03:13 AM
New Video Card Dieo New Systems | Building and Buying 5 04-02-2007 11:27 PM
Best silent video card spartan1121 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 03-26-2007 05:32 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.