Video card not producing a display - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-10-2007, 01:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1
Default Video card not producing a display

I'm having an odd problem. My video card (PNY Geforce 7600 GS PCIe)is not waking up my monitor. Now, for six months, it was working fine with no problems. But then just last week, when I booted up the computer there was no display. However, the computer did boot up just fine, as I heard windows open through my speakers.

I powered off the computer, removed the video card and tried again. No display. I then powered off again and plugged the monitor into the onboard video. That worked no problem. So I thought my video card died. So I planned to buy one within the next few days.

But, the following day I powered up my comp, and there was no display with the onboard video. I power down and try the video card again. Nothing. So I remove the video card and try the onboard. Now it's working again.

A few days go by. I decide to see if the video card really is dead. So I put it back in my comp to see if the fan is still running. Fan works, so I plug the monitor into it and I get a display! I let it run all day, and there's no problem, no graphic glitches or anything. Runs smooth. So I power down, let the comp sit for a few minutes and power back up. No display.

Here is my computer info :
AMD 64 X2 Dual Core 4200+
Gateway GT5034 Media Center Computer
Windows XP
2gb ram
PNY Geforce 7600 GS PCIe
Motherboard Name Foxconn C51GU01 Series
300w power supply

Thanks again!

zemn612 is offline  
Old 03-10-2007, 01:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K

lol. nice story

first try removing the RAM for couple minutes and then plug it it back in, or try plugging it into a different slot. But to tell u the truth sound to me like faulty power supply. You got a lot of stuff running on that PSU, so try swapping one from someone else to see if its the PSU is the main problem. 300 watt is like minimum for a system like that

P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 03-10-2007, 10:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 101

yea if its not the power supply try disabling on board video in the bios then plug in the card and try it from there just a guess though
-E6300 Intel Core Duo 1.86GHz
-ASUS P5NSLI Motherboard
-OCZ PC6400 800MHz 4x1GB Platinum series
-XFX 8800GTX
-OCZ Gamer Xtream 700W PSU
-2x160GB WD HD in RAID 0
-Antec Nine Hundred case
icantflybfplane is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.