Video Card - Not being recognized. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-19-2006, 10:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 111
Default Video Card - Not being recognized.

I have an ati 9200 SE in the comp as of right now. The moniter is plugged into it and I can get a signal.

When im in windows though its using integrated graphics instead of the video card which it is plugged in.

This lead me to believe I needed to install drivers, but I can't install drivers if the video card is not being recognized by the computer.

Any ideas? Beyond the obvious graphics adapter update.
__________________

duckey is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 10:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

If your monitor is plugged into the 9200 then it is using the 9200 not the onboard graphics. Go into device manager and see if the 9200 is listed under display adaptors. And xp has built in drivers for radeons but you should install the latest ATI drivers for the card.
__________________

__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 10:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 42
Default

Before you even put in the video card, uninstall the drivers for the intergrated video first. Go in Control Panel and uninstall the drivers,, turn the computer off, and then insert the video card. You might have to go into the BIOS and disable the onboard video. Sometimes the BIOS won't let you disable it, so you'd have to go to Device Manager and disable the onboard video there.
__________________
<A HREF=\"http://www.myspace.com/uatony\"><IMG BORDER=\"0\" SRC=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y155/runningfromvirginia/Specs.jpg\"></A>
LiQuid STATus is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 10:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 111
Default

The 9200 is not listed under the display adapters. I have not installed any drivers as of yet.

My stepdad said the same thing LiQuid, to take it out boot up, then put the card in and boot up again.

If I disable the onboard video and no other source of video is provided will I still be able to access bios to fix it.
duckey is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 10:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

Check BIOS and just double check that onboard is off.
__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 10:55 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 42
Default

What i'm saying is, the card is complete Plug and Play, so once you plug the card in, you will get a display out of it without drivers. You'll be able to boot into Windows and install the drivers for the video card (which came on the CD boxed with the card). Disabling the onboard video in the BIOS just rids the factor of conflicts. If for some reason you disable the onboard video and the video card you purchased doesn't work, and there is no way you can get a display, just reset the CMOS.
__________________
<A HREF=\"http://www.myspace.com/uatony\"><IMG BORDER=\"0\" SRC=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y155/runningfromvirginia/Specs.jpg\"></A>
LiQuid STATus is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 10:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 111
Default

K. I will disable on-board and try to find my cd, or manually install the drivers i got again.

One sec.
duckey is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 11:04 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 111
Default

Under device manager there is no Display Adapters now.

I will try installing the downloaded drivers.
duckey is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 11:05 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 111
Default

When I tried to install the driver it came up with an error.

INF video driver not found.

It said to try installing a driver before I did setup.
duckey is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 11:10 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 42
Default

Are you running the driver setup from the CD? Or using Windows to install the drivers?
__________________

__________________
<A HREF=\"http://www.myspace.com/uatony\"><IMG BORDER=\"0\" SRC=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y155/runningfromvirginia/Specs.jpg\"></A>
LiQuid STATus is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.