Video card / Monitor problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-28-2006, 10:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2
Default Video card / Monitor problem

Hi,
I've just started building a new system from scratch but I have a problem with my XFX Geforce 7900 GT. (I think)
When I boot up the computer I get a "check signal cable" message and a black screen.
I've tried two different monitors so it's not the monitor that's the problem.
I've connceted the card to the PCI Express 16 slot and plugged in the power cords that came with the box. Are you supposed to do something else for the card to work?
I know the card isn't completly dead since the fan works.
Could this have anything to do with the connection cable because I have a old cable with a 15 pin head that dosn't fit with the card but there came another head with the graphics card that you can plug in with the old head so it fits.
But I still get "no signal".
Any help would be appreciated.
__________________

Hydras is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 10:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

have you tried both DVI ports? make sure the card is seated properly. list your full pc specs please.

it is not necessarily the video card and can in fact be caused by pretty much any of the major parts. first thing i would check is that you have connected all power connectors to the motherboard (especially the 4 pin). make sure your memory is correctly seated
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 11:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2
Default

I had forgot to conncet the 4 pin! It works! Wow, I feel pretty stupid now, I got really worried there for a while I thought I had broken the card.
Thanks a lot for the help.
Hydras is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 05:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

your welcome glad that was all. don't worry about it it is a very easy mistake to make and i must admit i've done it more than once myself. there isn't many things scarier than turning that pc on to get that message but there is no better feeling of relief than solving the problem. just can't get used to having that extra 4 pin plug lol.
Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.