video card messed up cuz of virus? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-01-2005, 04:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 8
Default video card messed up cuz of virus?

hi, a week ago or so my computer got infected with something that did alot of damage.. i had to restore with the factory shiped settings...i think i had a virus or something that messed up my video card? is that possible? i was just playing a game and i was getting all these pop ups and stuff, i wasnt even in a browser... so i turned of the pc to see if a reboot would help... i restarted it, when windows xp started to load my monitor was flickering at me, and then it looked like these little text was like stuck in the monitor... i thought the virus had messed up my monitor, but i tried another monitor and it still did it. so i swapped video cards with another pc to see what was up, and now the text was gone, so i did a system restore... and here i am, do any of you know what is going on?
__________________

cynical897 is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 04:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Its possible the Virus messed with the video Drivers, but I doubt it could do damage to the card itself. What broswer do you use? Got a firewall? Got an AntiVirus program such as norton, AVG or Avast?
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 04:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 8
Default

well the card is nvidia geforce 4 ti 4600 128MB

i use firefox mostly, ie sometimes...

i dont have antivirus, just spybot/ad-aware checks every once in a while
cynical897 is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 04:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Since you don't have an anti Virus then, try AVast or AVG both free. A/V protection is very important.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 04:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 8
Default

i had nortan antivirus, but it slowed things so much, and i would always loose access to internet stuff i needed...

what do you reccomend i do with the video card that got messed with?
cynical897 is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 07:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to dipique
Default

Take off all the drivers. Restart the computer, and cancel all the "found new hardware" prompts. Reinstall the newest drivers, as well as AVG antivirus (don't worry, it doesn't have a big footprint). Then restart the computer. And never use NAV.

Dan
__________________

dipique is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.