Video card just won't fit - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2008, 03:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 8
Default Video card just won't fit

Hey everyone

I just bought a Diamond Radeon HD 3850 and it won't fit in my computer. The metal end with the connectors is twice as tall as the one's on my old video card and it is not syching with the PCI-E slot by 1/2 inch. I thought about using some sheet metal cutters and making it fit. Here's a pic of the video card and what I intend to do. I had to use my laptop touch pad to draw the line so it's not straight but you get the idea



I really don't want to return this card because I got a great deal. Does this look doable? any potential problems? Thanks
__________________

dwein2007 is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 04:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 276
Default Re: Video card just won't fit

What case do you have.

Can you get us some pics of the case? Is it a dell or pre built jobby?

I had the same problem with my 9800GTX, but my case had about 5 or so slots that are removable, I just had to take two out and cut the piece of metal gapping between the two.
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake Tsunami Dream
Asus 560 DCII OC 1GB
Intel Q6600 @ 2.4
Asus P5KC aiLifestyle Mobo
4GB Corsair XMS2 PC2-6400
Gigabyte 720W PSU
Windows 7 Home Premium
Method is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 01:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: Video card just won't fit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Method View Post
What case do you have.

Can you get us some pics of the case? Is it a dell or pre built jobby?

I had the same problem with my 9800GTX, but my case had about 5 or so slots that are removable, I just had to take two out and cut the piece of metal gapping between the two.

It's a Dell. here's a pic of the setup. Sorry it's dark but all I have is a camera phone. You can see the pci-e syncs up with the top gap and anything taller is gonna bang up on the network slot.

dwein2007 is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 01:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Video card just won't fit

is the case lowprofile? if it is then you can get a lowprofile bracket and put it on the card.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 04:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: Video card just won't fit

ok I got a low profile bracket and it fit in perfectly. Now I have a new problem. When Windows starts, it detects the new video card but the mouse and keyboard do not work (wireless Logitech) but on system boot it will let me type in the system password. I tried plugging in a wired mouse and still no luck. The motherboard does not have PS2 connections, only USB. It leads me to believe something is disabled on the USB connections. Is there something I can do to fix it with system settings on initial boot?

Thanks everyone for your help.
dwein2007 is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 04:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Video card just won't fit

go in to bios and enable usb keyboard and usb mouse.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 08:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: Video card just won't fit

i got it to fit fine and the mouse and keyboard are working. Now, the driver installation. Installation from the cd from Windows yielded an error like "Setup failed installation". I ran the Diamond ATI CD on safe mode and it says "Setup did not find a driver compatible with your current hardware or operating system". I then downloaded drivers direct from ATI.com and it still had the same error.

I went to device manager and updated the driver using the INF file on the
CD. It recognized my video card and rebooted. Now, it gets the Windows loading screen with the bar and goes black.

This new card requires a 450 Watt power supply with a 75 Watt PCIe connector. I looked at my current power and it says 305Watts of DC power. Is the black screen due to insufficient power? It ran my Radeon X1900 GT just fine.

Thanks
dwein2007 is offline  
Old 09-29-2008, 04:58 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: Video card just won't fit

a 3850 is gonna pull alot mroe power then a x1900, ya i think u need to upgrade ur psu,

but i dont think that would stop it from installing the drivers, also i dont think it would stop ur pc from laoding windows so leads me to believe u messed up a driver install.
__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 09-29-2008, 04:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Video card just won't fit

have you uninstalled previous video card drivers? and a 350 watt psu wont do a 3850. you need a upgrde
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 10-03-2008, 09:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: Video card just won't fit

Quote:
Originally Posted by philbar71 View Post
have you uninstalled previous video card drivers? and a 350 watt psu wont do a 3850. you need a upgrde

I decided to return the card. I had to take off the fan's outer casing to fit inside the computer and it just didnt look right to me. I decided on a Sapphire 3870 HD. I don't have to modify anything. It's the same size as my x1900 GT.

Thanks for your help everyone.
__________________

dwein2007 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video Upconverting software EricB Computer Audio and Multimedia 5 09-25-2008 11:40 PM
First build: Need help selecting PSU, video card, and sound card ItalianBoy228 System Upgrades 6 07-18-2008 07:13 PM
Need Everybody's Help with Video Card Whirlwind New Systems | Building and Buying 23 04-07-2008 06:17 PM
Possible video card issue -- ATI X1650 houndofspace Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 12-04-2007 02:17 AM
This video card or that video card? ArchisT New Systems | Building and Buying 21 07-11-2007 06:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.