Video Card Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2006, 12:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Angry Video Card Help

Hey guys, I just bought a GeForce 6800 OC to replace my GeForce MX 4000 but when I boot up my comp the screen looks REALLY weird and I can't install the Nvidia drivers because it stops half way. This card is compatible with my comp right? I mean, it wouldnt boot up if it wasnt, right? What could be the problem?

-Tnx for any replies


Edit: <---- LoL @ Virgin Techie
__________________

csalcido is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 07:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 639
Default

Well post your specs and I can help you. I can tell you if its compatible or not if I dont know your specs
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3400Mhz
Asus P5B-E
BFG 8800GTX OC
Samsung 400 GB Sata II
Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Zalman CNPS-9700 LED
Antec Nine Hundred
Hp W2207 22" Widescreen Monitor
Windows Vista Home Premium
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue Gaming Mouse
gmanych is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 09:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Motherboard- ECS 648FX-A
CPU- Intel Pentium 4 @ 2400 MHz
Windows XP Pro SP2
512 MB PC3200 DDR SDRAM
Disk Drive Maxtor 6Y120P0 (120 GB, 7200 RPM, Ultra-ATA/133)


Card trying to install:
http://http://bfgtech.com/6800GTOC.html

IS there a program to figure out what kind of PSU I have? I can't seem to figure it out


-Tnx
csalcido is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 05:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

it stops half way in the installation of the driver because u probably haven't uninstalled the driver from the old GeForce MX 4000.

first uninstall the old driver , then plug the new geforce in and install the newest driver or the driver they supplied u with

u should have at least 350watts minimum to run ur spec's without errors.

BTW u spelled the link wrong (u wrote http: twice)
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 06:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Default

:P
At first I didnt uninstall the driver because I didnt think it would matter because they both have the same driver. But I put the MX4000 back in and unistalled it and put the 6800 in and tried to install the driver but it still didnt work.

Does anyone know how I can check if my Power Supply has sufficient power?

-Thanks
csalcido is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 08:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

uninstall the driver and use Driver Cleaner Pro to get rid of any trails left from the driver
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 12:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Nope, that didn't work. I doubt it's my Power Supply either because I found out it's 350W. Here are some SS's of how my monitor looks and some of the errors I'm getting





csalcido is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 02:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

wow thats seriously me$$ed, im thinking ur system cant handle this graphic card or the graphic card is defective. im guessing ur mobo is a Socket-a (skt 478) which is outdated as in old.

return it and get something a little weaker or the same one if its defective
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 02:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
twopointshotdr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 66
Send a message via AIM to twopointshotdr
Default

NO! lol..its not the gpu or the mobo. i had the same prob!! when i updated from my onboard vga, to my geforce 6800 gs. SAME PROBLEM...! except i spent about 2 weeks trying evvverryy thing i could think of....including actually calling PNY tech support....YUCK! lol. but that didnt help either (no surprise). sadly it took a reformat for it to work. lol...gosh i know! But luckily for me...everything i have is backed up on my external hard drive. hopefully some one can offer a better alternative...other than that...im sorry man...
__________________

__________________
My build:
GIGABYTE GA-M57SLI-S4 AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz
CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (4GB TOTAL)
CORSAIR CMPSU-620HX ATX12V 620W PSU (3 12v Rails)
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb
Western Digital Caviar 160GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb
Thermaltake Armor Series Black Full Tower Case w/ 25CM Fan
PNY GeForce 8800GTS 640MB 320-bit GDDR3


--It's really not that complicated--
twopointshotdr is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.