Video Card does not work?

Status
Not open for further replies.

caltraskoo

Baseband Member
First of all, I'd like to thank everyone for their help with me building my Computer, I recieved a score of 6/7 (Big project, determines whether you graduate program, passing = 3) where the average score is a 4 or a 5.

So now, my video card has been out for awhile now. I own a BFG GTS250. My computer was working swell for a long time then after my brother pulled a USB cord out of the computer, it died (???). So I have been troubleshooting and it comes down to my Graphics Card or PSU

So heres what I did:
I removed parts of the computer and replaced them with what I could, all the parts worked as in the computer turned on and had the regular beep sound when I removed the graphics card. So the computer works absolutely FINE with the graphics card. But, when I put it back in, it doesn't....

So...I then deduced it to prehaps its my power supply, I have a Cooler Master PSU with 350 Watts of power ( I was reccomended not measure power by Watts, but I forgot how to measure it) and I thought, well it is a GTS250, which does take up quite a bit of power (my CPU is a Tri-Core mid-price AMD) So I happened to have a StealthXStream PSU with 500 watts of power lying around also, and I replaced it. So...the new PSU worked fine without the graphics card but when I put in the graphics card (as in put the PSU cord into the graphics card) the computer stops working.