video card dieing? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2006, 06:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Unhappy video card dieing?

hi,

I have an XFX 6600GT (atm it's not installed), it started earlier today........i restarted the computer and after it got past the XP screen to the desktop my screen starts to flicker and the computer freezes (and i mean freezes i cant do anything) , i'm guessing my card is dieing could it be true?, i have an old G4 MX4000 (PCI) in right now and the computer works fince (except CS:S it freezes i got work on that).

At this point i can not buy a new card, cause i am low on funds, but i was planning to upgrade to PCI-E later this year, but it looks like i'm gonna have to skip the RAM and get the new board and card after my birthday (cause i get money ).

If you want my specs they are below
__________________

__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 08:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

anyone?, i'd really like to know because CS:S doesn't like my geforce 4 ver much
__________________

__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 08:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

most likley just cant handle it and from what you describe it does sound like the card is failing try it in another machine first before you trash it though.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 08:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

i don't really have much to test it in, the other board i have is a P4 with an AGP board but i don't have a PSU powerful enough to handle it aside from what i'm using
__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 08:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

try to ask a friend to test it in their machine but it sounds like trash to me if you can get the machine to work fine with another video card. so start savin
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 09:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

i was planning on upgrading anyway in a couple of months, i'll have to wait to test it in my buddies computer since he's in the process of moving wonder what i can get out of this pice of crap Geforce 4? do you know of any volt mods for it? it's an XFX as well
__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 09:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

i wouldnt try overclocking a peace of crap like that unless you want to burn the house down lol just be patient.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 09:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

patient? that doesn't run through my family that much, i might as well overclock the thing, it might allow a bit better performance out of CS:S
__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 09:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

crappy things like that arent ment to be overclocked you will fry it then you will have nothing to play on. anything without a fan i dont trust to overclock.
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.