Video Card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-16-2007, 08:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 9
Default Video Card

Hey, I have an HD2400XT Video Card. I have never overclocked it before. When ever i try to open ATI tool or 3dmark05, it gets all screwy. The screen will turn on off, then say it recovered from an error. This happened twice, then on the third time it never turned back on. Now i can't get it to show anything on screen when i boot up. What can i do to fix this?
__________________

jakeknocks is offline  
Old 11-17-2007, 11:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default Re: Video Card

update drivers perhaps
__________________

__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 11-17-2007, 01:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Video Card

Wait..."when i boot up", are you referring to BIOS (your computer or motherboard's manufacturer logo) won't show or it won't show Windows once it gets to that point? If the BIOS won't show, try clearing CMOS (usually a jumper on the motherboard, if not, take out the small CMOS battery and reinsert it). If your graphics card requires external power (which, seeing as you have a high end board, it will), make sure you plug in the correct power supply lines to the card (some use PCIe 6 pin, some use Molex 4 pin, mine uses 4 pin FDD power). Try also taking out and reinserting the card.
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 11-17-2007, 02:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 37
Default Re: Video Card

I am using an ATI X1650XT and get this sometimes. Here is how I fix it.

1 - Go download the newest drivers for your card from the AMD site.
2 - Go download DriverCleaner Pro
3 - Uninstall your drivers and anything else that is with it - such as the ATI installer.
4 - reboot into safe mode and use DriverCleaner Pro as the instructions state.
5 - reboot again and now install the new drivers.
6 - reboot again and set up your card how you want.

The error you are getting is caused by the driver. I think it has something to do with new and old files together.

In the future you can just do an upgrade install and it should work fine. Just install your new drivers over the old ones in the future, DON'T uninstall the old ones or your will run into the same problem again.
SinxarKnights is offline  
Old 11-17-2007, 06:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 9
Default Re: Video Card

Quote:
Wait..."when i boot up", are you referring to BIOS (your computer or motherboard's manufacturer logo) won't show or it won't show Windows once it gets to that point? If the BIOS won't show, try clearing CMOS (usually a jumper on the motherboard, if not, take out the small CMOS battery and reinsert it). If your graphics card requires external power (which, seeing as you have a high end board, it will), make sure you plug in the correct power supply lines to the card (some use PCIe 6 pin, some use Molex 4 pin, mine uses 4 pin FDD power). Try also taking out and reinserting the card.
I am refering to turning on the pc. I do not even get the main motherboard logo to appear, i get nothing. I have already tryed taking out the battery, and removing the card and putting it back in. It doesnt require any extra power.

Quote:
I am using an ATI X1650XT and get this sometimes. Here is how I fix it.

1 - Go download the newest drivers for your card from the AMD site.
2 - Go download DriverCleaner Pro
3 - Uninstall your drivers and anything else that is with it - such as the ATI installer.
4 - reboot into safe mode and use DriverCleaner Pro as the instructions state.
5 - reboot again and now install the new drivers.
6 - reboot again and set up your card how you want.

The error you are getting is caused by the driver. I think it has something to do with new and old files together.

In the future you can just do an upgrade install and it should work fine. Just install your new drivers over the old ones in the future, DON'T uninstall the old ones or your will run into the same problem again.
I tryed removing the drivers, then seeeing if i got anything, but i got no luck. So i reformated my hard disk. I still get nothing. As of now i have no drivers installed and i still get nothing. I know you need the drivers for the card to function properly, but you still should be able to use the card without the drivers.


Would you guys reccomend installing the drivers again, then trying? If the card died, i am going to send it back and get an Nvidea card, so i don't really want the ATI catlyst controller on my pc. Thanks
jakeknocks is offline  
Old 11-17-2007, 11:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 37
Default Re: Video Card

Do you have onboard video? If so try that and see if anything comes up. There may be an option in the BIOS you have to select the gfx card as the primary display.
SinxarKnights is offline  
Old 11-18-2007, 10:03 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 9
Default Re: Video Card

Quote:
Do you have onboard video? If so try that and see if anything comes up. There may be an option in the BIOS you have to select the gfx card as the primary display.
No, I don't have onboard video. But i do have an pci card which i am using right now, and it works fine. I have also tryed changing the Primary Display as pci express. but I get the same problem.


Thanks for all you ideas guys, unfortunatly none of them have worked. Does anyone have any other possiabliltys? Or should I just send the card back?
jakeknocks is offline  
Old 11-18-2007, 02:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 37
Default Re: Video Card

I am out of ideas. Maybe you should just RMA the card. But don't forget to update this thread telling us if the new card worked.
SinxarKnights is offline  
Old 11-28-2007, 09:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 9
Default Re: Video Card

I got a new card, and everything is working great, i guess it was just a bad card. Or the hd2400's just really suck
jakeknocks is offline  
Old 12-04-2007, 01:57 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 37
Default Re: Video Card

HD 2400's aren't bad at all. I'm glad you got that working.
__________________

SinxarKnights is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video card and/or motherboard issues sdness Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 01-13-2008 01:41 AM
Possible video card issue -- ATI X1650 houndofspace Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 12-04-2007 02:17 AM
Video Card Power Feeback? Lord Zeon Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-27-2007 07:45 PM
damaged video card sb14blue Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-13-2007 03:13 AM
New Video Card Dieo New Systems | Building and Buying 5 04-02-2007 11:27 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.