Video card? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-20-2006, 09:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Default Video card?

Hello all,

I am new to this forum and I really need your help with an issue im having....I recently reformatted my computer and then re-installed winXP professional....after installing all drivers (from my recovery CD that came with the computer) I am having trouble installing my monitor driver. I read up and it seems I need to install my video card driver first....now I've installed everything on the recovery CD and I assume the video card driver is a seperate CD...however I do not recall having one nor am I able to find it. I know that my video card is from ATI.....is there a way to find out the model # or anything relevant that I may go on ATI's website and find the driver for my card?

Please help....

thanks!
__________________

drksi99 is offline  
Old 11-20-2006, 10:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

your monitor wont have a driver you just need the ATI one from here:

http://ati.amd.com/support/driver.html

oh and welcome to tech-forums where your dreams become reality....

also to find out your graphics card hold the windows key and press pause/break.

then go to hardware and then device manager.

in the list click the + next to display adaptors or something and it`ll say what your card is ATI radeon etc with a number
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 11-20-2006, 10:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by baronvongogo
your monitor wont have a driver you just need the ATI one from here:

http://ati.amd.com/support/driver.html

oh and welcome to tech-forums where your dreams become reality....

also to find out your graphics card hold the windows key and press pause/break.

then go to hardware and then device manager.

in the list click the + next to display adaptors or something and it`ll say what your card is ATI radeon etc with a number
thank you for the reply however since my video card has not been installed (using drivers) windows XP does not recognize it right? that is why it's not appearing under adapters....

Can I take a look at the physical video card and determine my model # from there? Would it be listed somewhere on the actual video card itself?
drksi99 is offline  
Old 11-20-2006, 10:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

it might appear with a yellow ! in the list then look for it there.

do you know if you have a graphics PCI card or integrated graphics?
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 11-20-2006, 10:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 76
Default

If you have a video card in the slot then it would be recognized by XP.
Start,control panel,system,hardware,device manager,display adapters. It may not be yellow because XP has installed a generic driver for it.


1. Select "Start"
2. Choose "Run."
3. Type "dxdiag" in the box and click "OK."
4. Click "Yes" to the prompt, and the program will begin running.
5. Select the "Display" tab and the Name listed under the "Device" section is the name of your graphics card.
schusterjo is offline  
Old 11-20-2006, 11:23 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Default

its not integrated

i will try the DXDIAG....I must have DirectX installed though right?

any version is fine?
drksi99 is offline  
Old 11-20-2006, 11:25 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

your graphics card should show up in device manager anyway...check all the sections looking for display,video or graphics.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 11-20-2006, 11:35 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 76
Default

any version is fine?

Yes
schusterjo is offline  
Old 11-20-2006, 12:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Default

thanks

i'll try tonight (im @ work right now) and post my results!
__________________

drksi99 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.